Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Great salsa! Make a batch every week now. Best to use fresh tomato, freshly squeezed lime juice is a must, canned corn is good frozen corn doesn't work as it becomes mushy and tasteless. Placed diced avocado in the lime juice to coat before combining to maintin color. Used an orange pepper to add more color, added a jalepeno as someone suggested. This salsa is delicioius, thanks Heather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Amazing! Everyone loved it! I could eat it by itself it was that good. I didn't use the avocado because I was out, and it still tasted amazing. Next, time I'll leave out the red onion just because I'm not a huge fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This is a favorite of mine - I have made it several times since finding it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
very bland.... it makes A LOT and it is really a very boring salsa :( In order to make this worthwhile you would need to make some serious changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This salsa is terrific, I added more avocado, I just hope it won't go brown before my event tonight. I did cover the avocado with the lime juice before adding to the rest of the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sidney, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Deliscious! Makes A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This black bean and corn salsa recipe was really good and it makes a lot! The only change I made was throwing in a second avocado into the salsa because I love avocado! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This recipe is quite bland as is, but it's a good base. Unfortunately, I had to omit the avocado because my boyfriend hates it. (I'm sure it would be delicious with it added!) However, instead of using canned tomatoes (I really dislike canned tomatoes in salsa), I used about 4 small/medium fresh tomatoes, diced. Since it was a bit lacking in flavor, I added about 2 teaspoons of cumin, salt to taste (maybe around 1-1 1/2 teaspoons), and pepper (around 1/2-1 teaspoon). I also used an orange bell pepper instead of red because it was all I had on hand. It still needed a little kick so I added 2 partially seeded jalapenos and 1 tablespoon of white vinegar. This brought it to life! With these changes, I would definitely rate it a solid five stars. My friends and I can't stop eating it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Yummy and fresh, but bland. Added salt, pepper, cumin, and extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This makes a lot and it still went fast at our family gathering! I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, a little extra lime (juice of 3 limes total), and 2 hatch peppers instead of the rekd bell for a little heat. Also added a bit of cumin and salt. Fantastic. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States