Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This recipes is always a favorite I've taken to many events. It always gets rave reviews. I do however use 2 Medium Fresh tomatoes instead of canned and an extra avacado. For a finishing touch I serve this salsa with lime flavored tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Fabulous! Even my Texan in-laws liked it. I let it marinate for about 3 hours in the fridge before I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
This is a great recipes for gatherings. When ever I go to a mexican style potluck this is always requested of me. It's good stuff. The only changes I make is I use two medium fresh tomatos chopped in place of the canned tomatos. And I also saute the peppers and onion, because I prefer them that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This is great! I also made a few changes. I used canned Rotel tomatoes w/ green chillis because it adds a lot of flavor and I like the tomatoes a little softer than the fresh ones. I added some jalapeno, doubled the avocado and I omitted the bell pepper and oil. Make it the night before so that the flavors meld well and it’s perfect alone or on just about anything. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Fantastic recipe as is! Sure, it's better if you use fresh corn cut right off the cob and freshly diced ripe tomatoes but the recipe is also delicious as written. I just recommend adding the step of leaving it in the fridge overnight before serving to let the flavors mix, and then adding the avocado right before serving. I like this stuff so much I eat with a spoon as a side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I made this to use some fresh produce I had been given. I didn't expect to enjoy it very much as I'm not a huge fan of raw tomatoes, raw onion, and cilantro. However, this was a huge hit and I even enjoyed it a lot myself! I made some changes just based on what I had, I just used yellow corn, fresh tomatoes, white onion and added a jalapeno and left out the avocado. I used lemon juice instead of lime and added the oil while I was blending a bit of jalapeno together with the lemon juice to add more of a dressing of sorts to it. It was lovely. Everyone really enjoyed it and it was very easy to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Not a huge fan of beans, but this is great! And healthy! I did follow some of the other reviews and added 2 packets of taco seasoning and garbanzo beans. I had tomatoes on hand, so I used them instead of canned (took me about 2 1/2 to make it the consistency I like). I also skipped the onion due to personal preference. I planned on adding jalapeno for spice but decided to add sriracha (my weakness) instead, and it took quite a bit, to get it to my spicy level, but its good. I wish I had another avocado to add, and I did add 2/3 c lime juice and a little extra olive oil. Bringing it to a work potluck tomorrow, but I don't care if no one likes it, because I have no guilt eating this very healthy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nimrod, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Seems like a lot of work but the end results is amazing. I make it every time we go camping. It's definitley a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Excellent salsa! I made a few modifications. I only used 1 can of black beans (seasoned), and 1 can of sweet corn. I added a fresh diced tomato instead of canned, and a jalapeño pepper for some kick. I omitted the onions, and bell peppers, olive oil and since my boys don't like avocado I served the avocado on the sided sliced with a pinch of cayenne pepper and fresh lime juice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
So good! Add some jalapenos for heat. Fresh tomatoes if you like them. My husband does not so left them out. Yummy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States