Hamantashen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This dough is very tasty, but its also gooey. I allowed the dough to chill in my fridge for about 4.5-5 hours, but it was still too gooey to roll out. I ended up making small balls and smashing them flat with my hands. My oven is strange and small so I had to make my Hamantashen in about 4 or 5 different bakings; this allowed me to experiment with baking temperatures, times, and sizes of the actual Hamantashen. I found that the dough expanded at an alarming rate and only when I made tiny (about half the size I would normally make) Hamentashen did they actually cook to become a normal size. Also, I increased the temperature from 190C to 200C and baked them for 16 mins. After they are baked they are still quite gooey, but the fridge hardens them without losing the chewiness/softness. Not bad :) That being said, you should know the dough is very sweet as well. I can eat a few at a time, but not too many because I start to feel sick from the sweetness. I guess thats good though cos they'll last longer! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This recipe seems to be easier than the one I've used for 40 years, and will use it this year. I will add a special touch from my dear mom: brush warm honey onto the hamantashen while they are cooling. It keeps them very moist and just a bit sweeter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I love making these cookies, they always taste so yummy. I do have some issues with rolling them and keeping them from opening, but that might just be me. :) I will be making these again, many times! Thank you for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I used the chocolate chips in the dough and filled them with a cream cheese frosting and raspberry pie filling. Absolutely the best cookie I've ever made. They were the hit of the lunch room.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
SO good!! I made mine with orange marmalade instead of poppyseed filling, and found it easier to pull off a small ball of dough and roll it into a circle rather than using a cookie cutter. Will definitely make many MANY more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeclayto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
we made a trial of the recipe yesterday,but used among others, apple and cinnamon, banana and thin slices of muzzarela,celebrating tropical Brazil, and the family loved everything.Now will be making all that again for Purim on saturday tks very much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Porto Alegre, Rio Grande Do Sul, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I made the dough in the afternoon and last night made the hamantashen with my 7 year old. We used a 3" circumferance glass, lekvar and an apricot coconut filling. We did not freeze before baking and were very happy with the results for 12 minutes of baking. These were very delicious, more butter cookie than biscuit which is just the way I like it. Easy recipe to make, follow and worth the results. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
These were yummy. I rolled them a bit thinner and really had to pinch the dough well for it to stay in shape. I also reduced the temp and baked at 350 degrees for 15 mins. I will make these every Purim, they were fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Schwartzman Lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
While the cookie dough is indeed delicious, this is not like the bakery hamantashen here in the Northeast. It is basically a butter cookie with jam filling. I used only 3/4 cup sugar in the recipe and it was still too sweet. I also left out some of the butter and it was still too buttery!! I will alter this recipe or find another one to fit my tastes better. If you're used to a classic New York style hamantashen from a Jewish bakery, try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Excellent, even using the plum jam that I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States