Ham Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great recipe. I used left over ham that I minced and I used fresh garlic (about a tablespoon, minced). I did not add salt as the ham I used was salty enough. I also took the idea from a different recipe and used 1/4 cup of mayo. I decided to use Panko bread crumbs for the coating and they tuned out moist and flavorful as well as crispy. I finished them off in the oven as the middle didn't seem to be hot enough when I taste tested. I think these would be great with a sauce as well. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Love it..I made it Exactly like u say...I drisseled Caesar dressing over thm!! Yum..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Excellent. Like most of my cooking, I used this as a jumping off platform. The cheese I used was Sargento Mexican Blend which was a perfect cheese for this. I added about a Tablespoon of JD Hickory Smoke mustard and about 3 Tablespoons of Hellman's light mayo to the mix. My breadcrumbs were an Italian seasoned flavor, and I used Ritz cracker crumbs on the outside because I ran out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I also did not include the salt (ham is already very salty and we are watching our sodium intake). I had a leftover ham, so I diced it very small - took a little longer than using packaged ham, but worked just fine. No green onion, so I just left it out. Used a Mexican blend and Italian blend, since that's what I had opened up in the fridge. I think this recipe is forgiving enough that small changes won't hurt it - it is just toooooo yummy!! It smelled so good, I wanted to eat the mixture before I had added the eggs. We don't normally eat fried foods, so this was a little hard on mine and hubbys bellies, I think we may try to bake them next time. Going to follow the directions for breading them and then cook them on parchment paper. I'll try spraying them with a cooking spray to help crisp them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
A little mushy, but a great quick use for leftover meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Very good. My 5 year old even declared that this is better then Mac and Cheese and is her new favorite food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I made these with our leftover holiday ham. I used the food processor to cut up the ham into a consistency where we would have pieces of ham but not chunks. I omitted the garlic (not garlic lovers) and fried in olive oil and 2 tablespoons of butter. I used panko breadcrumbs for the outer coating. Recipe made 9 nice-sized patties. They were delicious. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I normally don't write reviews. I actually just used the recipe with ground Turkey and I did not use the cheese as all the croquette's I have ever had didn't have it. We used Peanut Oil for frying and I actually double rolled them in bread crumbs. It was a win all around! Next time I plan on using a food processor to combine it all together a little better and easier to roll them. Either way it was delicious and my husband who makes dinner 99.9% of the time was impressed I actually made them (I don't care to touch raw meat with my hands) and he gave me a high five. Haha Wins all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was really easy to do and it turned out to be really tasty as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
i have tried this recipe and absolutely loved it. i am Cuban and it tasted just like the croquettes that my grandmother used to make. My kids love them and can't get enough of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States