Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
My turned out very mousse-like. I followed others advice and wrapped the bottom of my springform with foil, cooked in the water bath for 60 minutes, let it sit in the oven with door ajar for another 60 minutes. Then I chilled it for 8 hours before we ate it... I wonder what the problem was?? In addition to that, I wasn't a huge fan of the flavor. I felt it was too sour tasting. I'm a huge guinness and chocolate lover, but this really didn't do it for me, unfortunately. Other people at dinner said they loved it...but I wonder if they were just trying to be nice? I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This cheesecake was amazing! It was smooth, very silky, and was gone in a flash! Very rich chocolate flavour with just the slightest hint of the beer that was loved by beer drinkers and non-beer drinkers like myself. I had no trouble with the recipe and it turned out beautifully (though my crust did fall apart while serving, but that probably was due to the fact I used Oreo cookies instead of just plain chocolate cookies - which I couldn't find). I did have a lot of filling left over after filling my pie tin, but I had enough cookies left over so I could make a bunch of miny cheesecakes in a muffin pan. Turned out wonderfully! I will definitely be making this into a St Patrick's Day tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA
Living In: Leeds, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Super yummy, just enough Guiness so even the non-beer drinker will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I think this would have been more successful without the water bath. Although I understand that the water helps to cook and cool the cake more gradually (great for cheesecakes in general), the water leaked into my springform and created a soggy mess. A waste of good stout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I made this recipe for st.patty's last year OMG the best cheesecake ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreadymama28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I think the people who gave this a bad review must have done something wrong. Really, this was the best cheesecake EVER! My husband loves chocolate and Guinness, and he found this recipe for me. I was skeptical because he doesn't ever cook, and I read a few of the bad reviews, and almost said no, but he insisted I try. I followed the recipe to the letter, with the only exception that I let it cook 60 minutes, and let it sit an extra 45 minutes in the closed oven. Turned out FANTASTIC! Beautiful appearance, perfect texture, and chocolaty goodness with a very slight hint of Guinness. The batter did appear very runny, and I was scared, but have no fear, it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I have made this twice and both times it was fantastic! I am making it again this year for our St Patrick's day party since everyone is requesting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was a fun recipe to make. My husband and I tried out our brand new Kitchen Aid mixer on this. We made two cheesecakes. He took one cake to work and we kept one for us at the house. The first one didn't cook all the way in the water bath and it was a really fluffy texture. So for the second one we didn't do the water bath and cooked it for about 15 minutes longer with the door open slightly. It turned out wonderfully. My husband's co-workers ate all of it and several wanted the recipe. It was just really rich and thick. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I also ran into problems with this recipe, following the directions, regular altitude. The batter was okay, but tasted slightly sour. The batter never cooked/set properly. Perhaps some of us have oven issues?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I have made this according to the recipe EXACTLY at least 5 times. The flavor is outstanding: slightly bitter but sweet. The texture is dense and creamy in a "melt-in-your-mouth" kind of way. My husband requested it for his birthday cake and one friend even paid me to make it for him. I don't really understand all of the negative reviews. This is one of my all time favorite cheesecakes! ***Only gave 4 stars because you really should wrap the bottom of your springform in foil to protect from the water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTOlough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alsip, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States