Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
the flavor was awesome, but the batter was waaay too liquidy. i thought maybe it was due to the fact that i had consumed a fair amount of guinness before i made it, but after looking over some other reviews, i feel a bit vindicated in my complaint. i used to cook 6 cheesecakes a week commercially and prolly make ten or so at home annually, so i feel VERY comfortable with making them, and this recipe was off. will tweak it and definitely make it again tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This cake was the hit of our St. Patty's day party. Came out just great. One friend said it should be my signature dish. I am making this recipe again for about the 6th time and every time we love it more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I followed the directions exactly but the cheesecake wasn't cooked through. When we cut it, it was runny. It was disappointing. It definitely needs longer cooking time. The batter tasted good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmheff
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Please ignore the naysayers, follow the directions exactly, and enjoy! It was a huge hit at our very Irish St. Patrick's Day celebration and is certain to become a staple in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmheff
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This turned out fantastic for St. Patrick's day! Very moist and decadent. I followed the recipe exactly and had no trouble. This goes in my file and I will use in the future. I used Smidwich's Irish beer. As a non-beer drinker I could taste a faint "beer"? taste when the cheesecake had been allowed to sit out and reach room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by normal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
i love this cheesecake. I made it for st. patty's day and everyone loved it. I changed the recipe a little bit. I didnt use a spring pan. I used and 8x8 square baking dish and didnt do the bath method or open the oven for 45min. I just let it cook the hour and a half and checked it with a toothpick. Then i added a sour cream frosting to the top of the cake and let it cook an additional 10 minutes in the oven. then i finally did the chocolate decoration. It came out so good. Its so good with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I dont like to post anything negative, but would like to save anyone the dissapointment I had, especially if planning on serving this to guests. The flavor of the batter was lovely, but I was so upset when I made this. I made it exactly as the recipe stated. Cooked it in the bath, etc. It looked lovely and done when the time was up and I put it in the frig to chill. I went to serve it the next day and the middle was soup. My family and I were so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Love this flavor. Used Young's Chocolate Stout. Had fun serving it with Irish Stew that had Guinness. (Didn't follow pan directions, so mine was messy, but we couldn't even wait to let it cool.) Used a ganache on top. YUM! I am a big fan and will make it again. I am also a big fan of Jesus, Mary, and Joseph, and the Holy Spirit. Now I'd better go exercise. Used full fat everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Made this for St.Patrick Day I read reviews so I cooked it longer 60 min total, left in oven chilled I did make one change I added espresso powder to crust 1/2t because I find it gives the chocolate a richer flavor, took to dinner party everyone raved and wanted recipe. Will make again! Rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javadiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
WOWZA!!!! this was amazing and not a bite left the next day!! I had to rate this to help knock this recipe back in the 5 star category. It seems like the people who rated this poorly had problems with the consistnecy of the cheesecake. I am not sure if this was due to error on their part or not, but I made this almost identical to the recipe and it was perfect. I made 2 minor changes. I only used 1/2 cup of guinness because previous ratings said it was too runny. I think if I had used 3/4 cup it would have been just fine however!! I also baked closer to an hour. After it baked, I left it in the oven for approx 30 minutes with the door ajar and then put in the fridge for 4 hours. It set up perfectly!! I to put a pan of water on the rack below instread of a waterbath. I decorated with crushed snickers and chocolate chips and served with cool whip and ice cream...HOLY MOLY!! It was to die for!! I encourage those who rated it poorly to try again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWeiser29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States