Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Wow! So smooth and creamy and great flavor. Wonderful dessert. Used Nabisco Famous Chocolate Wafers (in ice cream topping section of grocery). Perfect! Made it for a double birthday: daughter who loves chocolate & cheesecake and her husband who loves Guinness. Not like a typical cheesecake, almost like a cheesecake-mousse hybrid. Didn't know to wrap the pan in foil before baking in the water bath so crust was a little bit soggy but my pan has a decent seal so wasn't bad. Will know next time to use the foil. Didn't look done so baked an extra 10 minutes. Was suspicious that a cheesecake can be done in only 45 minutes! Left in oven, as directed and as I know to do for cheescake. Came out perfect after chilling. Worth the time to make. A definite keeper recipe that will be made again - for my own birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Very good. A hit with the guests. I found it a little too rich, but goes great with some fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I have never made a cheesecake prior to this. I followed the directions it came out perfect. Everyone loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maineman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boothbay, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, no substitutions or anything, but the consistency of the cheesecake was not to my liking. I had to bake it much longer than the recipe required as it came out more than jello-jiggly all over. This may have been due to our high altitude, but I have baked cheesecakes at this altitude before and have not had this trouble before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephi
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
As many people seem to have made this very touchy recipe with good results, I'm sure the problem is just in the way it was written. I'm a pretty experienced cook and was very excited to learn of this water-bath method, certain it would produce an amazingly smooth cheesecake. But it would be very helpful for the submitter to offer hints as to how much water is needed to cook the cake adequately, and how much heat should be allowed to escape with the door slightly ajar. I followed this recipe exactly as written, along with the recommendation that I wrap the springform pan in foil. (As the latter was not even included in the original recipe, I suppose I was not as diligent as I should have been with this step--some water still managed to seep around.) As there are no hints given, I had to wait until the end of the 1 1/2 hour cooking time to know that I needed to make some adjustments. Please let us know what to watch for to make sure it turns out right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
The Perfect Cheesecake! I have been making this every St. Patrick's Day for years and it is always a huge hit! I follow the recipe EXACTLY and it comes out perfect every time. Cheesecake is a hard one to master. Take your time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I make this recipe for St. Patty's and so far there have been no complaints. For super fun festivities try going for white choc. clovers dyed with green food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is fantastic! I love how the Guinness cuts the sweet of the chocolate. I made it and brought some to work in March, and now, in January co-workers are STILL talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuziHockey8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by SHARONANNH
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I'm adding my vote to the attempt to make this a 5 star recipe. I followed the recipe with only two minor alterations. I used dark chocolate chips instead of semisweet as we love the taste. Also, based on previous reviews, I opted for the chocolate stout in lieu of Guinness (which I have used in a cheddar cheesecake - yum). I used Nabisco Famous Chocolate Wafers for the crust. Note-it only covers the bottom not the sides of the pan. Make sure to bring everything to room temp, take your time, and you'll be so thrilled with this cake. I used a water bath (with the pan wrapped in foil). There were a few minor cracks on one edge which I think I caused from a bit of over exuberance in pulling the oven shelf out to check the cake. I baked for 55 minutes (my oven can be wonky), let it sit for nearly 2 hours until I finally pulled it out, and fridged overnight. If you're a fan of chocolate cheesecake, you are going to love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
It's imperative to follow the instructions exactly. Seal the pan tightly with foil before submerging in the water bath and make it a full day in advance. This cheesecake was so delicious, but definitely needed time to set. Will make again and again. For the crust, I tried putting fudge oreos in the food processor, didn't need to remove the filling, it worked perfectly. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States