Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is the second cheesecake I have ever made in my life. The first was plain and delicious but this cake... My gawd was simply amazing. I picked this recipe because my husband and I drink Guinness a lot and when his 31st birthday came up I thought it would be perfect and it was. Irish for the Irish. I followed it to the last letter. I was leery because we live at about 10,000 feet. I'm still learning about elevation and cooking. This cake came out smooth, creamy, amazingly delicious but firm enough to set. The only thing I would like to learn more about is the crust and it's consistency. Consistency aside...wouldn't change a thing and neither would anyone else that partook. Incredible. Don't mess with it and don't try new recipes if you apparently know enough to make your own. Good eats:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I've made this cheesecake three times now and it is amazing! I've gotten so many compliments for it, everyone loves it! I followed the recipe exactly each time. It's incredibly rich and smooth. The center is sometimes a bit loose, but that could be because my oven isn't the greatest. It isn't too loose, though, and it certainly doesn't take away from the taste. Thank you for posting this recipe. I will most definitely continue to make this wonderful dessert. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Jackson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Circleville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
WONDERFUL as is! A MUST try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I've made this 3 years running for my friends birthday cake, have a feeling its going to see a lot more years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eddington, Maine, USA
Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
only 4 stars cuz the temp should be 375 and the time should be 1.5 hrs. Other than that this is an amazing cheese(more like Mouse) cake. Just a suggestion, I used a chocolate stout instead of Guinness and I'm sooo happy I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YvieWood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This cheesecake is excellent! I will definitely make it again. I couldn't figure out how to do the shamrocks so I just drizzled the chocolate over each piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Amazing! This is the best cheesecake I've ever made. I don't have the special pan - I used an oreo crust in a tin pan and filled a big baking dish halfway with water and followed the same directions. I think I took it out maybe 20-25 minutes into leaving it in the off/open oven, but I don't think that mattered much. This made enough for me to do 2 cheesecakes in that manner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Absolutely fabulous!! Kudos to the creator of this recipe! I used a chocolate stout beer and the ghiradelli chocolate chips and after much research...I have all my ingredients at room temperature. The key is to add everything a bit at a time..One egg at time, bit of sugar at a time...pause every so often and scrape the sides of your bowl down! I also LOVE the water bath. I use the extra long Reynolds aluminum foil and wrap my spring pan twice so that NO water is able to make it into the pan and then put my spring form pan into the pan i usually roast my turkey in!. I baked mine about 15 minutes longer...but still kept it in the oven as recommended. As for the chocolate clovers? I put the melted chocolate into my kids medicine dropper and it worked very, very well!! Will make this again and again!! No cracks baby!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Wow! So smooth and creamy and great flavor. Wonderful dessert. Used Nabisco Famous Chocolate Wafers (in ice cream topping section of grocery). Perfect! Made it for a double birthday: daughter who loves chocolate & cheesecake and her husband who loves Guinness. Not like a typical cheesecake, almost like a cheesecake-mousse hybrid. Didn't know to wrap the pan in foil before baking in the water bath so crust was a little bit soggy but my pan has a decent seal so wasn't bad. Will know next time to use the foil. Didn't look done so baked an extra 10 minutes. Was suspicious that a cheesecake can be done in only 45 minutes! Left in oven, as directed and as I know to do for cheescake. Came out perfect after chilling. Worth the time to make. A definite keeper recipe that will be made again - for my own birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Very good. A hit with the guests. I found it a little too rich, but goes great with some fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States