Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Tasted great, yet it is more of a really thick mousse rather than a cheesecake. Hard to serve. I reccomend putting it in the freezer before serving to prevent it from falling apart. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I modified this recipe a little bit. I took the advice of the other reviewers. First of all I dont have a spring form pan, so I made my crust in a pan first. And taking into concideration the fact that people said the crust wouldnt cook properly with that amount of butter/cookie ratio I used slightly less butter then called for. I cooked the crust in the pan for about 15 min on 350. I also made the cheese cake filling without sour cream. This happened to be an accident. I had extra cheese cake filling left over after pouring the first pan, so I went ahead and made a second crust. The first cheesecake I put into the oven I did not put a pan of water underneath it. I cooked it for 60 min on 350. Then turned off the heat for 30 min with the door closed. And then 15 more min with the door open. Then I put in the refrigerator for 4 hours. The first cheesecake turned out dry and cracked on top, but the texture and taste turned out just fine. So the 2nd cake I put a pan of water underneath and cooked the same amount of time. This cake turned out very pretty and not cracked. As far as this cheese cake goes, the cooking time and texture turned out great. It wasnt soggy or undercooked or over-wet at all. I dont think its the best cheese cake I've ever had or made. It does have a wonderful hint of the beer flavor that makes it different. I think its a nice manly cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leanie
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
The only saving grace of this recipe is that we were all drunk by the time we ate it! Definitely more trouble than it's worth. Strange consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was fantastic! I served it for a large group near St. Patrick's Day and got rave reviews. It is incredibly creamy with a delicious chocolate flavor. I did not change anything in the recipe. It did not look done when I was supposed to turn the oven off, but if you used the water bath, you'll be good to go! Fantastic! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mackenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Made this for myself and my husband (a guiness fanatic) and we loved it. He is a big guiness drinker and he says he will never have his guiness another way. While I don't believe that, it is really good. This was my first time making a cheesecake and I made a couple of errors but it still turned out great. I forgot to put the pan of water in around it, it took an extra 20 min to cook but did turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Serempta
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Wonderfully delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serempta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This recipe definitely has the POTENTIAL to be a 5 star recipe. I have made it twice just to see if I could make it work. One MAJOR item that was missed in the instructions is to wrap the bottom of your springform pan in foil before allowing the water to touch it. The first time I made this, the water seeped into the pan, causing the crust to get soggy. In addition to this, here are the modifications I made: I didn't add any sugar or cocoa to the crust, as I thought it was chocolaty enough with crushed oreos. I used exact measurements for everything else & used approx. a 1/3 semisweet chips and 2/3 giradelli bittersweet chips mixture. I baked about 60 minutes & turned off the oven with the door closed for about 15 minutes, then cracked the door for another 45 minutes. Once the cake is chilled in the refrigerator, it firms up nicely. So, don't be afraid to make it. It's incredibly rich tasting and a great St. Patrick's Day dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
what a dissapointment! it looked good, but fell apart when i tried to removed the bottom of the pan. It tasted good though, but looked like a big pile of blah. I will not make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachbride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mortons Gap, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Herrin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
For the love of God & the Holy Mother, drink the Guinness while you're looking for a DIFFERENT recipe. Seriously. This one is horrible. I cook cheesecakes all the time. (DH loves cheesecake almost as much as Guinness.) So I should have trusted my instincts on this one & skipped the beer as the recipe was already too loose. The person even got the crust part wrong: cookie crusts need 2 cups crumbs, 2 TB butter (hello, the stuff in the middle is already fat & sweet & chocolate); graham cracker crusts need 1-1/2 cups crumbs, 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup sugar. Too much butter leaves cookie crusts tasting like lard & cracker crusts hard. It's not necessary to reinvent the wheel just because you're going to post your recipe. No idea what the 1/4 tsp cocoa was for...I've never seen 1/4 tsp of anything called for in a recipe. Why bother? The eggs, sour cream, cream cheese is all a normal cheesecake recipe...so, it's either the 3/4 cup beer puts the liquidity over the top or its the water bath cooking method. (I didn't immerse my springform by the way, a pan of water underneath in an oven would be sufficient in a recipe that NEEDS moisture, UNLIKE this one.) Finally, 90 minutes on 350, I take it out as the perimeter is starting to pull & crust, center looks iffy. (Left in the oven, turned off, door ajar for another hour.) & oh surprise, surprise crust is soggy, cake completely raw. I'm so mad at myself because I fell for all the hocus pocus thinking it might be interesting b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JusCookAlready

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Mmmmmmmmmm! I made this for my annual St. Patrick's Day party and there wasn't a crumb left at the end of the night! The cheesecake is easy and delicious. I used chocolate teddy grahams because I couldn't find chocolate cookies for the crust and they worked great. I also increased the cooking time to 70 minutes, and it still needed to be cooked longer. Will definitely save for next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States