Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Sounds weird but was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I followed the directions exactly and it came out perfectly! I used generic Oreos for the crust and separated the cookie from the cream filling and only used the cookies for the crust. My only word of caution is to be sure that the cream cheese is very soft before adding to mixer. Otherwise you get cream cheese lumps in your cake- not the worst outcome, but not overly pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Okay so the flavor of this is wooonderful! The Guinness is subtle but is no doubt what gives that little something something. I had to cook for at least 20 mins longer than recipe called for and maybe could have used a little bit more. It does firm up in the fridge...overnight would be ideal. I agree with others recommendation to just cook over a pan of water instead of putting it in it. Will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was delicious. I didn't use the cookie crust or decorate it so I'm just rating the cake. The texture was a little too moist/airy for my preference but it held together well and I got nothing but compliments. My batter was not as runny as some experienced, but the cake was quite jiggly after the recommended time, puffed up to double it's final size while cooking and then fell in. I'm not sure if it was the beer, using the mixer, or the egg(I usually use less than a recipe calls for due to allergies). I will definitely use this recipe again but I will reduce the eggs and hand mix the batter as I normally do. Thanks for the yummy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This recipe has SUCH potential - if perfected, it could be one of those "signature" dishes that all of us are looking for, the kind of thing that people ask you to bring by name when they are having a party. Unfortunately, I did have some problems with this one. Let me say that the flavor of this cheesecake is absolutely phenomenal - chocolate cheesecake is to die for anyway, but the Guinness adds a little bitter undertone that brings it to another level. Amazing. And after making the little chocolate shamrocks (for a St. Patty's Day party), the presentation was unbeatable - people asked if I had stopped at a bakery on my way! :D The problem with this cake is the liquidity of the batter - it looked very wet for a cheesecake batter when I poured it in the pan, and I baked it just as written. At the end of the 90 minutes, the cake still rippled in the center. Put it back in the oven for another 30 minutes at 350. When it was time to eat the cheesecake, it was cooked through but barely, a little more goopy in the middle than I would have hoped. I will definitely try this one again, but the consistency of it as written knocks it down a few stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Was a big hit this St Patty's day! some changes i made - left out the heavy cream, used 1 1/2 c crushed chocolate graham cracker instead of 1 c, and used 6 T butter for the crust. I didn't have cocoa powder either. It came out fantastic!!! I used a 9x13 pan with aluminum foil on the bottom to take it out easier. I cut it into squares for a party with about 30 people. I also put a baking sheet with water on the rack below as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was so great! I can't wait to share this with everyone I know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Make it as directed and it turns out wonderful. If you change things blame yourself for poor results.I brought this to a party and everyone asked for the recipe! I'm sick of people complaining about recipes when they change things because they think they know better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This was a good cheesecake, but not what I was expecting. The flavor of the Guinness was extremely subtle, which was a disappointment. I made the recipe exactly as posted, and the center did not quite set up despite sitting in the refrigerator for almost 6 hours. When served, every slice split in half because it was simply too wet. But the crowd ate it anyway, and it was thoroughly enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I have never written a review on anything but I had to do it this time! For all of the bad reviews for this recipe I just want to say, you must have done something very wrong! I love cheesecake, have made many and have sampled many more & this by far is the best cheese cake I have had. I used Oreo cookies and cut the sugar in half instead of using chocolate waffers but, that is the only thing I changed. One thing that should have been mentioned is that the cake does not look "done" when you take it out but it it will firm up when you chill it. Also, make sure you wrap the springform pan with foil so the water doesn't get inside. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States