Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
only 4 stars cuz the temp should be 375 and the time should be 1.5 hrs. Other than that this is an amazing cheese(more like Mouse) cake. Just a suggestion, I used a chocolate stout instead of Guinness and I'm sooo happy I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YvieWood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This cheesecake is excellent! I will definitely make it again. I couldn't figure out how to do the shamrocks so I just drizzled the chocolate over each piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Amazing! This is the best cheesecake I've ever made. I don't have the special pan - I used an oreo crust in a tin pan and filled a big baking dish halfway with water and followed the same directions. I think I took it out maybe 20-25 minutes into leaving it in the off/open oven, but I don't think that mattered much. This made enough for me to do 2 cheesecakes in that manner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Absolutely fabulous!! Kudos to the creator of this recipe! I used a chocolate stout beer and the ghiradelli chocolate chips and after much research...I have all my ingredients at room temperature. The key is to add everything a bit at a time..One egg at time, bit of sugar at a time...pause every so often and scrape the sides of your bowl down! I also LOVE the water bath. I use the extra long Reynolds aluminum foil and wrap my spring pan twice so that NO water is able to make it into the pan and then put my spring form pan into the pan i usually roast my turkey in!. I baked mine about 15 minutes longer...but still kept it in the oven as recommended. As for the chocolate clovers? I put the melted chocolate into my kids medicine dropper and it worked very, very well!! Will make this again and again!! No cracks baby!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Wow! So smooth and creamy and great flavor. Wonderful dessert. Used Nabisco Famous Chocolate Wafers (in ice cream topping section of grocery). Perfect! Made it for a double birthday: daughter who loves chocolate & cheesecake and her husband who loves Guinness. Not like a typical cheesecake, almost like a cheesecake-mousse hybrid. Didn't know to wrap the pan in foil before baking in the water bath so crust was a little bit soggy but my pan has a decent seal so wasn't bad. Will know next time to use the foil. Didn't look done so baked an extra 10 minutes. Was suspicious that a cheesecake can be done in only 45 minutes! Left in oven, as directed and as I know to do for cheescake. Came out perfect after chilling. Worth the time to make. A definite keeper recipe that will be made again - for my own birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Very good. A hit with the guests. I found it a little too rich, but goes great with some fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I have never made a cheesecake prior to this. I followed the directions it came out perfect. Everyone loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maineman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boothbay, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, no substitutions or anything, but the consistency of the cheesecake was not to my liking. I had to bake it much longer than the recipe required as it came out more than jello-jiggly all over. This may have been due to our high altitude, but I have baked cheesecakes at this altitude before and have not had this trouble before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephi
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
As many people seem to have made this very touchy recipe with good results, I'm sure the problem is just in the way it was written. I'm a pretty experienced cook and was very excited to learn of this water-bath method, certain it would produce an amazingly smooth cheesecake. But it would be very helpful for the submitter to offer hints as to how much water is needed to cook the cake adequately, and how much heat should be allowed to escape with the door slightly ajar. I followed this recipe exactly as written, along with the recommendation that I wrap the springform pan in foil. (As the latter was not even included in the original recipe, I suppose I was not as diligent as I should have been with this step--some water still managed to seep around.) As there are no hints given, I had to wait until the end of the 1 1/2 hour cooking time to know that I needed to make some adjustments. Please let us know what to watch for to make sure it turns out right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
The Perfect Cheesecake! I have been making this every St. Patrick's Day for years and it is always a huge hit! I follow the recipe EXACTLY and it comes out perfect every time. Cheesecake is a hard one to master. Take your time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States