Groovy Green Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This was good but a little too much like Spinach. A friend gave me a variation: 1 cup carrot 2 cups raw spinach, 2 apples peeled and cored, 1 cup OJ, 2 bananas and 2 cups of strawberries. Tastes much better than it looks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
395 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
WOW, WOW, WOW!! Who would have thought raw spinach could make a smoothie taste so good! Even if you DON'T like spinach you should try this! I followed the recipe except for the grapes. Since I didn't have the grapes I put in the entire PEELED apple in chunks. I didn't have vanilla flavored yogurt (too much sugar in that product) so I used plain yogurt and after tasting the recipe added 1 tablespoon ground flaxseed and 1 teaspoon organic agave (low glycemic sweetener that looks like honey). To make the smoothie colder I added some crushed ice (this does make it thinner). The smoothie will definitely become a BIG hit on this site!! I will make this weekly!! I will use another reviewers suggestion to get the kids to try it by having a "green" food coloring bottle on the counter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This drink was really good. We were reluctant to drink it for breakfast but by mid-morning, it was a sweet and healthy treat. Surprisingly, it even looks good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I *really* don't like bananas, so I used a mango instead. Also, I used plain yogurt instead of vanilla -- so to make it sweeter, I used some pineapple. The only thing I didn't like about this recipe was that it was chewy. This was mostly due to leaving the skin on the apple. I would *not* do that again. Our blender couldn't seem to handle it, and I was left with a chewy, apple skin aftertase. Overall, good recipe. Not something I would eat every day, but for a once-in-a-while health food snack, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
We love green smoothies, but I have learned a few things this recipe leaves out. Spinach is boss and a green smoothie will taste like spinach if you leave out a simple ingredient. a banana. Banana is boss over spinach, so if you add a banana. any frozen fruit, yogurt, and a liquid, you will not taste spinach and the banana calms the overly fruity taste and does not over-power. Kids would probably love this with this 1 additional ingredient. For an extra boost, we also add a packet of emergen-c vitamin c drink. The kids won't touch that stuff otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I made this for my 17 month old who refuses to eat her veggies, and she loved it! I didn't have any grapes, so I threw in strawberries instead. It was delicious, thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
We pretty much decided that any fruit mixed in a blender with some ice tastes good. We would have never thought to put vegetables. Surprisingly pretty good. You could taste the spinach, but it was not strong. It is an amazing color of green! We did not have grapes, so used oranges instead. Still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Very yummy. I was lazy and used 1/4 cup apple juice instead of the actual apple and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I thought this was really good! Never would have though to put spinach in a smoothie. Nice texture and flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I gave this recipe three stars. I liked it but it was a little heavy and not really my taste. Once in a while this smoothie would be great and healthy. But I try to drink smoothies daily and this was just a little heavy and not to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windtraveler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Celaya, Guanajuato, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States