Grilled Sea Bass Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
freekin delicious, people!! seriously! and easy to boot! for about 1.25 lbs of sea bass i started out with 1 tspn each spice & 1/2 tspn of lemon pepper. that was too much lemon pepper so i added another 1/2 tspn of garlic, onion & paprika. it was just right. after sprinkling, i patted the fish and it ended up basically as a paste which kind of made a crust as it broiled. done, btw, on the second rack level of the oven. as the paste began to crisp i moved the rack down one more level. i drizzled just a bit of olive oil as the amount called for is too much in my opinion. definitely does not need the amount called for. also, i served the butter on the side. honestly, it was delicious with or without the butter. it really isn't needed. but that's just me as i try to cut fat wherever i can. served with garlic lemon green beans & brown rice. scrumpdillyicious!! p.s. if you are in the long beach area, you simply must visit the fishmonger at the alamitos marina farmers market on sunday. his fish is amazing!! but get there early cuz he sells out fast. bon appetit, mon frer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Wow 5+++++stars This was great a restaurant quality dish. I made as stated with the exception of sea salt, did not have so I used kosher, but scaled it back some. I also used Chilean Sea Bass which was really expensive (21.99lb) OUCH!!!!. But it was worth every penny. I charcoal grilled mine about 8 min per side over high heat. Can't say enough about this dish, will try a cheaper sea bass next time though. Chilean Sea Bass will be for special occasions. Oh!!! I almost forgot what ever you do please do not leave out the last step with a good quality EVOO it makes a world of difference. UPDATE!!!!!! I MADE THIS AGAIN LAST NIGHT, ONLY I USED RED SNAPPER BECAUSE IT WAS ON SALE, IT TURN OUT REALLY GOOD, THIS IS A LIGHT FLAVORFUL FISH WITH RESTAURANT QUALITY TASTE. I DID GRILL MINE AND FOLLOWED RECIPE AS BEFORE. 5++++STARS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I used this recipe with grouper fish. I thought it was fantastic. I mixed up the spices and put them in a ziplock bag. Then I added a little olive oil to my fish and added them to the bag and gave it a good shake. I let them sit in the fridge until I was ready to cook them. I didn't have time to grill tonight, so I put them in the oven on 400 for about 15 mins. They were great! I also doubled the recipe for the spices. I used 2 filets, very large in size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
This is an excellent combination of seasonings. I recommend that you double or triple the amount of seasoning so the fish is completely coated. I double the amounts shown just for two servings. I am partial to Chilean Sea Bass and have made this several times with that fish. My only other change is that I drizzle the finished fish with white Truffle oil instead of regular olive oil before serving. Truffle oil is a highly refined olive oil with the fragrance of truffles. It’s very pricey but you don’t use much and it is usually only found in upscale grocery stores. If you can’t find it in your area, just do a “Google” search and you can buy it online. It adds an incredible finishing touch to a fine dish and you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I had never tried sea bass, so went to your website for a recipe as friends were bringing it for New Year's Eve. Well, it was outstanding. All 6 of us agreed. It was certainly simple to do, and I read the reviews, which are very helpful, and I baked it at 400 for 20 mins. because my stove was being used for a pasta recipe. Just fantastic, however, I'm going to try cheaper fish, as this cost my friend 45.00! Wow! Is there a good cheaper type of fish that will fare well with this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
very nice recipe, easy and quick, good flavor, my only problem was I cooked the fish a bit too long. also would suggest to add paprika after fish is taken off the grill so the paprika does not burn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
For 2- 7oz filets I used 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon onion powder 1/2 teaspoon paprika and 1/2 teaspoon lemon pepper. I omitted the salt completely and did not use the garlic herb butter. I lined a baking sheet with aluminum foil, sprayed with PAM and baked the filets at 400 degrees for 20 minutes, then flip them and baked for about 5 more minutes. It was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
I really enjoyed this recipe! I left out the sea salt and garlic and replace it with garlic salt mixed in with the melted butter. I wrapped in foil, cooked slowly on the grill, and then finished up the fish directly on the grill, for that 'grilled look'. Place on a plate and poured the butter mixture over top. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I AM SOOOO PICKY WITH SEAFOOD....THIS WAS AWESOME! By far the best we have ever made at home. Definitely Double the seasonings. Omit Olive Oil at the end...herbed butter in recipe is enough. If you use dried Parsley instead of Fresh...Cut the amount in half or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
My wife and I have made this recipe three times since we found it. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States