Grilled Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Ok. I read the reviews. We love vinegar and I actually doubled the amount. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I made no changes and it was a winner! I will be making this again! Easy and very flavorful, balsamic adds the punch. We all enjoyed it! Thank you! D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Good stuff! I love the way these big portabello caps mimic meat. I would agree with some of the other reviews that the recipe calls for a bit more balsamic vinegar than I think is needed, but then I was using a cheaper, more tart vinegar than is available. An aged, mellower version might be just right. Since, in addition to meat, mushroom caps mimic sponges, I wouldn't let them marinate much longer that an hour. Thanks, BFOLLICK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Made this last night for dinner for the first time. Everyone enjoyed it. Definitely planning to make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Burress

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is a great recipe, which we prepare a few times each summer. If you wonder whether to flip them over on the grill -- don't! You'll lose a lot of the flavors and it's not necessary. I generally double or triple the minced garlic, use olive oil rather than canola and allow the caps to marinade for a few hours. It's great for both vegetarians as well as carnivores, as it is quite meaty and tastes a lot like steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made these on my Cusinart Grill. I also grilled onions, green peppers, and mushrooms. Turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I'm always asked to prepare this dish. Even the plates are licked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Absolutely LOVE this....I do my own twist on this though...I cut fresh pineapple into rings and put them on the grill as well. When portobello's are done I put the pineapple on top then put some raw cheddar or colby cheese on them and melt under broiler for a few minutes. I serve it with Organicville bbq sauce, roasted asparagus and sweet potato oven fries. EVERYONE I have ever made this for wants the recipe - it has been a huge hit even for major meat eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This recipe has great potential. Here are the things I feel need consideration: how large are the mushrooms? Should the mushrooms be turned? Based on my experience, you must watch your mushrooms for donness and do not turn them. I substituted lemon juice but would have used white wine for vinegar (which I'm not supposed to consume) and I added thyme to the marinade. Ten minutes was much too long. They did not get mushy but too dark especially on the thin edges. I will do it again a little differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
These turned out very good, but there was a lot of oil sitting on top of the mushroom. I drained it off several times while on the grill. Make sure you don't grill too long, they turn mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Grilled Pineapple Salsa

Grilled pineapple is the perfect way to switch up salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States