Grilled Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Absolutely LOVE this....I do my own twist on this though...I cut fresh pineapple into rings and put them on the grill as well. When portobello's are done I put the pineapple on top then put some raw cheddar or colby cheese on them and melt under broiler for a few minutes. I serve it with Organicville bbq sauce, roasted asparagus and sweet potato oven fries. EVERYONE I have ever made this for wants the recipe - it has been a huge hit even for major meat eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This recipe has great potential. Here are the things I feel need consideration: how large are the mushrooms? Should the mushrooms be turned? Based on my experience, you must watch your mushrooms for donness and do not turn them. I substituted lemon juice but would have used white wine for vinegar (which I'm not supposed to consume) and I added thyme to the marinade. Ten minutes was much too long. They did not get mushy but too dark especially on the thin edges. I will do it again a little differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
These turned out very good, but there was a lot of oil sitting on top of the mushroom. I drained it off several times while on the grill. Make sure you don't grill too long, they turn mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This was so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Extremely disappointing. The savory flavor of the mushroom is gone and the sweetness of the balsamic is overpowering (think: sugary mushrooms.) Onions are wasted as they impart no flavor. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
WOW! This was great1 I did cut the amount of vinegar down to half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Made these yesterday..they were awesome. I used 2 Tablespoons of Balsamic(Trader Joe's Gold Quality Balsamic Vinegar of Modena) and light olive oil instead of canola. Didn't have an onion so I used a shallot. It made enough marinade to put on 5 large mushrooms. I spooned it onto the gill side only and just rubbed olive oil on the smooth side. I let it soak in for @4 hours before I grilled them. I topped them with smoked provolone, home made roasted peppers and home made pesto and put them on a fresh kaiser roll. Friends said they were the best grilled mushroom sandwiches ever :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Just wonderful. I had no balsamic but subbed with lambrusco vinegar and only used about half called for in the recipe--we don't like too much zing. Hubs never cooked a portobello before today, he put them on a grill rack and let cook about ten minutes, a very big one needed a few minutes more, very easy to grill and excellent for beginner or experienced chefs. Family raved about the favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I like this recipe a lot. Another reviewer mentioned (indygirl915)that it had too much vinegar. I agree. I use 4 teaspoons of vinegar instead of 4 tablespoons. It is confusing that the oil is measured in 1/4 cup but the vinegar is measured in 4 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I agree with a few others that there was too much vinegar in the marinate. Other than that it was good and we will try it again. I did add some Parmesan cheese. I cooked them in a hot oven on a baking sheet for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States