Grilled Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Absolutely LOVE this....I do my own twist on this though...I cut fresh pineapple into rings and put them on the grill as well. When portobello's are done I put the pineapple on top then put some raw cheddar or colby cheese on them and melt under broiler for a few minutes. I serve it with Organicville bbq sauce, roasted asparagus and sweet potato oven fries. EVERYONE I have ever made this for wants the recipe - it has been a huge hit even for major meat eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This recipe has great potential. Here are the things I feel need consideration: how large are the mushrooms? Should the mushrooms be turned? Based on my experience, you must watch your mushrooms for donness and do not turn them. I substituted lemon juice but would have used white wine for vinegar (which I'm not supposed to consume) and I added thyme to the marinade. Ten minutes was much too long. They did not get mushy but too dark especially on the thin edges. I will do it again a little differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
These turned out very good, but there was a lot of oil sitting on top of the mushroom. I drained it off several times while on the grill. Make sure you don't grill too long, they turn mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This was so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Extremely disappointing. The savory flavor of the mushroom is gone and the sweetness of the balsamic is overpowering (think: sugary mushrooms.) Onions are wasted as they impart no flavor. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
WOW! This was great1 I did cut the amount of vinegar down to half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Made these yesterday..they were awesome. I used 2 Tablespoons of Balsamic(Trader Joe's Gold Quality Balsamic Vinegar of Modena) and light olive oil instead of canola. Didn't have an onion so I used a shallot. It made enough marinade to put on 5 large mushrooms. I spooned it onto the gill side only and just rubbed olive oil on the smooth side. I let it soak in for @4 hours before I grilled them. I topped them with smoked provolone, home made roasted peppers and home made pesto and put them on a fresh kaiser roll. Friends said they were the best grilled mushroom sandwiches ever :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Just wonderful. I had no balsamic but subbed with lambrusco vinegar and only used about half called for in the recipe--we don't like too much zing. Hubs never cooked a portobello before today, he put them on a grill rack and let cook about ten minutes, a very big one needed a few minutes more, very easy to grill and excellent for beginner or experienced chefs. Family raved about the favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I like this recipe a lot. Another reviewer mentioned (indygirl915)that it had too much vinegar. I agree. I use 4 teaspoons of vinegar instead of 4 tablespoons. It is confusing that the oil is measured in 1/4 cup but the vinegar is measured in 4 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I agree with a few others that there was too much vinegar in the marinate. Other than that it was good and we will try it again. I did add some Parmesan cheese. I cooked them in a hot oven on a baking sheet for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States