Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LYNNERIE
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Excellent recipe. Moist, sweet, delicious. I like to add a can of cream-style corn. It really takes the flavor, texture, and moistness up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNERIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I think Kay was just plain rude! I think the recipe is Great!!! As is! She's just a pill Diane Chicago
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Black

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This is the BEST cornbread recipe. You can use bacon fat in place of the butter if you wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Dawn Bates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Delicious! I didn't change a thing! Served with Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This is moist and delicious! I made it as written. I baked it for 28 minutes. It was served with honey butter. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Thank you! I've been searching for a corn bread recipe without boxes or white flour in the recipe - and this was close enough! I substituted organic corn flour for the standard white flour, and only used half the sugar (corn is naturally sweet) - it turned out wonderful - very dense, but not dry, and much more "corn-y". My sweet tooth son adds a dollop of honey to his - otherwise a pat of butter and this is corn bread heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi Jorgensen Williams
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This recipe is awesome tasting and so easy to make!!! Made it exactly per the directions and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Grandma knows best! Especially when it comes to baking. Love this classic cornbread recipe. Used a 9x9 pan, so the pieces were a bit smaller. (I just decided to buy an 8x8 pan to use the next time I make this.) Flavor was sweet, and I like that. Texture was good. Quick and easy recipe. I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is it! The perfect sweet cornbread recipe! Something soo simple and perfect. I make exactly this recipe and pour the mixture into 2 five inch round corningware dishes and pop 'em in the toaster oven to get more toasty oven goodness with a perfect moist center. I am sure this bread along with the copious amounts of butter i slather on it, will be the death of me. Smiling to the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,806) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States