Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
LOVE IT! I bake mine for about 9 minutes so they're a little chewy on the inside. I've tried the recipe with both shortening and butter and liked the ones with shortening much better. The shortening is important for the great texture of these cookies. I like to add a filling and make them sandwich cookies- 1/4c butter, 1/4c milk, 2T instant vanilla pudding mix, 2c powdered sugar, 1/4t vanilla, 1/4t almond, mix the pudding mix and milk, add butter, then sugar, vanilla and almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
I have always wanted to make homemade gingersnap cookies. This is the recipe. They came out beautiful, tasted delicious, and go great with milk. Can't wait til Christmas Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
These cookies are the best! They truly "snap" and melt in your mouth. I included these on my Christmas trays and everyone raved about them! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
I am not a real big fan of ginger anything when it comes to baking. This was absolutely, melt in your mouth delicious. They were very easy to make. My 3 year old helped roll the cookies in the cinnamon and sugar. Even my hubby, who said he didn't like gingersnaps said these were good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
The best! I've been looking for a really good gingersnap recipe. Texture is great, kids loved them. I made mine a little bigger and got 4 doz. out of the recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This is the same recipe my great-grandma, grandma, and mom have used. I lost my copy and am so glad to have found it. I follow this recipe exactly but flatten just slightly....I like mine slightly puffy. For my dad, I press with a glass dipped in sugar. He likes his Gingersnaps thin and crispy. Thanks Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
Best Ever!!! Been looking for recipe like this for some time. This one is PERFECT! Crisp outside, chewy inside and tasty too MMMMMMMMMMM Heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
These were just a delight to make! Super easy to throw together and they tasted just like my grandma's. However, I only got about 40 cookies out of this recipe (3 dozen) - and they were small in size. I got a lot of compliments when I took them to a baby shower (of course, every one there had the same grandma as me, so that's what we were comparing them to!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDZELLMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Terrific!!!! These have a great ginger taste, good texture with soft middles and crisp outers, and are very easy to make. 4 dozen. We love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANECOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
The best ever! Incredibly soft and chewy with just the right gingersnap taste. These were a big hit even with people who are not gingersnap fans. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States