Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
i also substituted the shortening with butter and added a 1/2 tsp of nutmeg then pressed the cookies before baking and they are so soft and delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Oh god, it's delicious. The first cookie I made! Me and my family love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
These cookies are crispy outside, chewy inside. Me and my husband just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Amazing, amazing, amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I'm glad that I made the suggested batch size. That initially seemed like too many cookies, but my husband keeps 'liberating' them as they cool! I needed ginger snaps for a recipe and - oddly enough - my grocery store didn't have any. I figured that they would be easy, and this recipe supports that. I think we have a new favorite in the house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
These are really good gingersnaps! I was looking for a recipe that was not as crispy all the way through as the one I have always used. I think the 350 cooking temperature helps with this as well as the ingredients. I upped the spicy factor and added 1/2 t cloves as another reviewer suggested. I also added 1 t grated fresh ginger and about 1/3 c finely chopped candied ginger to make them triple ginger snaps. This will be my go to ginger snap recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I'm going to give this 5 stars as I'm in the process of mixing the batter right now from the exact same recipe my mother and grandmother used. Every ingredient is the same including the double sifting! I know these will be the finest of all gingersnaps as I've made them dozens of times in my 77 years. Shortening really does give them a nicer texture than the butter that some have suggested but I've always been concerned about the trans fat factor. However, I have found a vegetable shortening made from palm oil that has 0 trans fat and now use that exclusively. Thanks, Marie, for sharing this wonderfully delicious and fragrant cookie recipe with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hinckley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! I made these for a bunch of people, and even someone who never EVER eats cookies couldn't get enough! They came out nice and soft, and stayed soft! I'll be using this recipe FOREVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made 2 batches. I'm not sure what I did differently (if anything!) but they turned out so different. One was thin and kinda chewy and the second was fluffy and kinda crisp. Both were really good. I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Finally, a gingersnap recipe that meets my best friend's standards! To spice it up that much more I added 1/2 tsp allspice, a dash of nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp ground cloves. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 531) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States