Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
DELICIOUSLY PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Just made these and absolutely love them! They look so pretty! Didn't have a sifter, so used a whisk and worked out perfect. Made the recipe according to recipe - only thing I did differently because a few reviews mentioned "needing a kick"... I added some Ground Allspice to my cinnamon sugar when I rolled the cookie balls.. Was perfect, not overpowering, but just a hint of "that kick". Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I made this recipe today with just a few changes. I used butter instead of shortening & I added in a bit more ginger & cinnamon, also a hint of cloves & nutmeg. They tasted wonderful and I do not particularly like gingersnap cookies! My kitchen smelled awesome and I plan on making more this weekend to pass out to family & friends! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by taureansage23
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I LOVE this recipe. I've been making it every year around Christmas time for a few years now. I make it as written, with the addition of about 1 tsp of ground allspice and 1 tsp vanilla. And I always get asked for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taureansage23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Interlaken, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
it is a good recipe, however I was dreaming of spicy chewy cookies, and this one was just off the mark a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Lamoureux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
My 3 year old son and I made these last night. It was a really kid-friendly recipe in regards to his ability to help and the dough itself wasn't too sticky or gooey so he was able to roll cookie balls which he loved. I was also surprised at how much he loved the cookies and even the batter. I kept catching him eating it raw which, given the molasses and the ginger, I was surprised at. The cookies are not sweet and definitely have an adult flavor, but rolling them in the cinnamon sugar before baking is a great way to off-set the almost spicy nature of the cookie. I've added the recipe to my family book and will definitely make these again soon. Thinking I may pair it with a cream cheese frosting to make little cookie sandwiches as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Fantastic Recipe. I actually triple sifted my dry ingredients as I only had all purpose flour on hand. I was generous with the ginger and also added 1/4 tsp of cardamom. Bake time was right on. I actually tried 3 different bake times on 3 different trays of cookies; 8, 9 and 10 minutes. This yielded a perfect range of chewy through to crunchy ... each tasting just as good as the other. I recommend you try sandwiching the chewiest of the cookies between a spoonful of rich vanilla ice cream. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skonskyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I also substituted butter. Followed the recipe completely, otherwise. Turned out SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I made 1/2 recipe.. The dough was too sticky I had to add 3 tbsp. flour and refrigerate dough poss. because I couldn't do 1/2 egg. I added 1 cApful rum. (CAp not CUp)I added 1/4 teaspoon cloves. I baked at 375 high altitude (13-16 min) I had enough for two cookie sheets batches. 1) 1st Batch: Gingerbread Cookies..No Snap! 2) 2nd Batch: I added a sprinkle more ginger and cloves. This is one half recipe, so a "pinch" each. Then I added Hot Chile which I keep in a small shaker, clearly labeled. I live in the South west. This is genuine Hot Chile. If you use this chili, you know what a sprinkle or "to taste" means. Add that much. Now these cookies Snap! If you like Snap and have Hot Chili, add a sprinkle or two. That will add snap to the cookies, guaranteed! I will make these cookies again..Ginger Snap with a Snap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 574) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States