Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Hands down, the best gingersnap cookie recipe!! But, I use butter instead of shortening. Butter makes everything better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene Rieck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
These cookies were amazing! I followed the advice from some other reviewers and added 1 tsp of fresh minced ginger, along with the already existing ginger powder. I was concerned that it would be too strong, but it wasn't. Instead it added a nice kick (although my husband and I do like ginger)! I used butter instead of shortening and baked the cookies for 10 minutes. I took them out of the oven when they hadn't yet cracked, and they started to crack as I was putting them on the cooling rack. Again, from the advice of a fellow reviewer, I used 1/3 cup sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon for the cinnamon sugar mix. I also used pure molasses instead of dark, and it wasn't a problem. These cookies were so chewy and tasted great, not only fresh out of the oven, but also the next day! If you are going on a diet, don't make these cookies because it will be hard to eat only one! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Giffmommy
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I substituted butter for shortening and used 1 1/2 tbsp fresh grated ginger and they were AMAZING! Perfect texture, perfect flavor... Everyone (even my picky eater) LOVED these cookies!! I will definitely make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made these cookies for a cookie exchange at work and HOLY COW they turned out so good! Defiantly keeping this recipe around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Great dairy-free recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I used butter instead of margarine and like why my cookies were pretty flat. The flavor was good and the cookies were nice and soft - love the soft cookie! Others said crisp so not sure of the difference. I will make these again! First time that my kids tried gingersnaps and they loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
The only thing I changed was the shortening. I used butter in its place. I followed all the directions in this recipe and it came out beautifully. Easily the best cookies I've made. I'm keeping this recipe and if I need to make more in the future, I'm definitely using this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
As a confirmed chocoholic, I'm surprised to find this is my now absolute favorite cookie. Made them for the hubs, who is a molasses/ginger nut and WOW. Rich, chewy goodness! Made NO changes to the recipe..how original. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Have made these for years passed down from my grandma the only difference is she added 1/2 tsp cloves and rolled them into a ball and rolled in granulated sugar then cut the ball in half put on baking sheet cut side down, press down to flatten a bit.(Mrs Ayers Receipt, a Grandmother's receipt) An absolute favorite for the holidays or whenever I can be talked into making them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 572) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States