Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Loved these!!!! Family liked these so much right out of the oven. I had to make another batch to give away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These are the absolute BEST ginger snaps I have ever made or eaten! I followed the instructions exactly - no changes at all. I also was diligent about sifting the flour mixture as instructed. My cookies came out beautifully crackled on top. They are crisp around the edges, soft in the center, and will make an amazingly wonderful addition to my holiday cookie trays. My kids also want me to make them again after Christmas so they can take them to school for lunch :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Exactly the flavor I was craving!! Made them again to take to a family Christmas, and everyone was saying, "Have you tried the gingersnaps? They're great!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is a GREAT cookie recipe - loved that the dough was so easy to work with and not sticky or hard. I used butter instead of shortening and then for the 2nd batch (after tasting), I added cloves for a bit more spice. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
These are the best ginger cookies I have ever tasted. They won't "snap" but they are wonderfully moist and chewy. Don't skip that second sifting, I think that might be what gives them that texture. I make them every year for myself and my son in law. You won't convert the folks who don't like ginger cookies but that leaves more for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I baked these today, and they are awesome! Smelled and tasted wonderful. I made the recipe as written, except I doubled it and used half butter and half shortening. A great addition to my holiday cookie tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I thought I screwed these up, as my batter was very wet. I just added a few more tablespoons of flour until it was "rollable." Also made my cookies too big, just baked them a little longer. Tasted one and it was DELICIOUS. Crispy on the bottom, soft in the middle, yum. I added 1 tsp cloves, as some suggested. The flavor of these cookies is divine, and the cinnamon sugar on the outside is just the special touch to complete them. Saved to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Fantastic recipe and much-loved by everyone who tries them. One thing: do not skimp on space between cookies on the sheet - two inches apart or bust. They spread out quite a bit while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmiEmi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I have never made gingersnap cookies before, nor did I think I reallly liked them - but these were fantastic! I will definately make these again! I substituted butter for shortening and followed the rest of the recipe exactly - very very very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Genevieve Schiller
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Soft but Chewy, and not too sweet. I used Becel salt-free margarine instead of shortening, but they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve Schiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States