Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I used organic REAL butter, half white flour and half whole wheat flour and organic sugar and organic molasses. I think they're much too sweet and too chewy. I'd prefer this type of cookie be crunchy. I recommend less sugar and cooking them at 325 for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
These are amazing. I have a little trouble getting the cookies to not come out as small, flat pancakes, but chilling the dough seems to help. Also, no one complains because they taste just like a gingersnap should! I've also made them gluten-free with Pamela's baking mix. Tip: Add 150% of the normal amount of flour when substituting. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
These are delicious cookies,I make these all the time for my husband they are his favorites.I have made two slight adjustments.Richard likes the ginger, so I add 1/2 tsp. more ginger. I also do not roll them in sugar, just too sweet for us. Nina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Fantastic cookies. I've never made ginger snaps before but these were easy. Added extra cinnamon, grated fresh ginger, 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Will try cardamom/black pepper next time but these are wonderful as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Recipe was for a good chewy cookie. I didn't taste much ginger but mine had been in the pantry a while. My daughter (who doesn't like ginger) loved these cookies she couldn't stop eating them. They aren't like the hard crunchy cookie you get in the box. I like the soft ones better but I would have liked it with a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I like these cookies. They are far from being bland as one person said. I will make them again but with a little less ginger. A tablespoon made them a little too strong. They burned in my throat but otherwise a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Everyone loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Just got done and they are very wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry James

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These are the best cookies I have ever made!!! EVERYBODE that tried them are begging me to make more. The only modification I made was i added 1/4 teaspoon of fresh ground black pepper to spice it up. Mmm mmm good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Omnomnom, so good. I almost ate the first batch I baked before the next sheet came out of the oven. I followed the recipe exactly expect I used less salt because I only had salted butter, used butter instead of shortening, and added candied ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States