Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Followed the recipe and found they were not "snappy" enough. Should be called Ginger Chews..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is a very flavorful cookie but it is not a snap. The center was chewy; I was looking for a cookie with a crunch. The person who I made them for thought they were delicious, but she was expecting a crunch too. BTW, I made it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Camden, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
We pressed it pretty flat for thin crisp cookies; we pressed them down with a buttered glass with sugar on it; and we just let be on the sheet for chewy. We also used butter instead of shortening; added a little nutmeg, clove, and used brown sugar. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I used organic REAL butter, half white flour and half whole wheat flour and organic sugar and organic molasses. I think they're much too sweet and too chewy. I'd prefer this type of cookie be crunchy. I recommend less sugar and cooking them at 325 for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
These are amazing. I have a little trouble getting the cookies to not come out as small, flat pancakes, but chilling the dough seems to help. Also, no one complains because they taste just like a gingersnap should! I've also made them gluten-free with Pamela's baking mix. Tip: Add 150% of the normal amount of flour when substituting. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
These are delicious cookies,I make these all the time for my husband they are his favorites.I have made two slight adjustments.Richard likes the ginger, so I add 1/2 tsp. more ginger. I also do not roll them in sugar, just too sweet for us. Nina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Fantastic cookies. I've never made ginger snaps before but these were easy. Added extra cinnamon, grated fresh ginger, 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Will try cardamom/black pepper next time but these are wonderful as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Recipe was for a good chewy cookie. I didn't taste much ginger but mine had been in the pantry a while. My daughter (who doesn't like ginger) loved these cookies she couldn't stop eating them. They aren't like the hard crunchy cookie you get in the box. I like the soft ones better but I would have liked it with a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I like these cookies. They are far from being bland as one person said. I will make them again but with a little less ginger. A tablespoon made them a little too strong. They burned in my throat but otherwise a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Everyone loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States