Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I love gingersnaps, so I was excited to find such a highly rated gingersnap recipe. These cookies were pretty darn good. I didn't have to tweek the recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Lincoln University, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the best recipe, my family is gobbling them down and so easy and quick to make, great presentation cookies for the holidays, I used Spectrum Organic All vegetable shortening and organic sugar from Trader Joe"s; these are great with a after dinner drink, my family is loving them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
These are awesome! I did make some variations - but I know they would be great as is. I substituted butter for shortening, and added 1/2 tsp ground cloves, 8oz dark chocolate chips and 4 oz crystallized ginger. I also didn't do all the sifting. I LOVE these cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Reese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! I too used butter instead of shortening. I will make this my only Gingersnap recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I love gingerbread in the form of cake, cookies, etc. I've used different recipes almost every fall & through the winter in past years and have found them to be good but, I still continued on my search for "great". This recipe is it! They're spicy, crisp but, chewy at the same time. I did "tweak" this a bit because I love a little extra spice and stirred in some chopped crystallized ginger to the dough. They were simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki_In_Simi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arleta, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
VERY Yummy cookies!! Easy to make. I substituted butter in lieu of shortening, and used a wisk instead of sifting. Tasty, great flavor, great looking, will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These cookies are great. My grandmother and I made cookies yesterday and she wanted to make box mix. I suggested that we try this recipe instead. After we made the cookies and tasted them she was very glad that we decided to make these cookies and not box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kyla
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
OK seriously, I think these might actually be the best cookies in the world. Hell, maybe even the Universe! I know what you're thinking, how could they be 'that' good? That's what I thought after reading all the other glowing reviews, but once you try them...you'll understand. Trust me. These are my new vice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyla
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
AWESOME!!! Gramma would have loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer Good

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Nice and chewy after 8 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverChristmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 530) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States