Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Great cookies that stay chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Kemen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Soft and chewy! I used butter instead of the shortening. These cookies are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I made a couple changes after reading other reviews. 1/2 cup shortening and 1/4 cup butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar, added 1 tsp. ground cloves and 1/2 tsp cream of tartar. I baked them exactly 10 minutes and they are sooooo goooood and snappy everyone wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Pretty good and not too difficult to make. Not sure if all that sifting is necessary though. Not too gingery and more chewy than snappy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Chewy, flavorful, a good balance of spice and sugar. This only produced 2 dozen cookies for me. Also, I have subbed many times "pumpkin pie spice" blend for the ginger to give a more complex spice flavor. Lastly, if you want these cookies to be non-flat, refrigerate your dough for a few hours before baking, they will still crack on top and leave you with a thicker cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdlololo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
These are the best ginger cookies I have ever had. (Only modification I made was to add 1 teaspoon cloves) Have been searching for the perfect mix of flavour and texture and this is it. Amazing, and even my picky 15 year old daughter LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
easy to make and the kids love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
GREAT recipe i loved it and it was easy! they turned out with those picture perfect cracks on the top every time. i made two batches since i liked them so much only in the second batch i added more ginger but i love spicey gingersnaps, i also didnt roll them in sugar. i was worried at first because the dough is more wet than i was expecting but they turned out really great. i will be using this recipe over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this recipe today, and this is the first rating I've ever given. Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies are to Die for! I did follow the advice from April's comment and add 1tsp. cloves, just because I like a little extra spice. Other than that, follow this recipe to the letter and you will not be disappointed! These cookies are soft and chewy and flavorful. I will definitely be making these again! I am a professional baker so believe me when I say this recipe is a keeper!!! Thanks Mary Ayers for sharing, I can totally see why your family has been enjoying these since 1899.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This recipe is amazing. Every time I make these cookies, people are begging for the recipe. That's how I got it! Great fall and holiday cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 567) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States