Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Amazing, amazing, amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I'm glad that I made the suggested batch size. That initially seemed like too many cookies, but my husband keeps 'liberating' them as they cool! I needed ginger snaps for a recipe and - oddly enough - my grocery store didn't have any. I figured that they would be easy, and this recipe supports that. I think we have a new favorite in the house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
These are really good gingersnaps! I was looking for a recipe that was not as crispy all the way through as the one I have always used. I think the 350 cooking temperature helps with this as well as the ingredients. I upped the spicy factor and added 1/2 t cloves as another reviewer suggested. I also added 1 t grated fresh ginger and about 1/3 c finely chopped candied ginger to make them triple ginger snaps. This will be my go to ginger snap recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I'm going to give this 5 stars as I'm in the process of mixing the batter right now from the exact same recipe my mother and grandmother used. Every ingredient is the same including the double sifting! I know these will be the finest of all gingersnaps as I've made them dozens of times in my 77 years. Shortening really does give them a nicer texture than the butter that some have suggested but I've always been concerned about the trans fat factor. However, I have found a vegetable shortening made from palm oil that has 0 trans fat and now use that exclusively. Thanks, Marie, for sharing this wonderfully delicious and fragrant cookie recipe with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hinckley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! I made these for a bunch of people, and even someone who never EVER eats cookies couldn't get enough! They came out nice and soft, and stayed soft! I'll be using this recipe FOREVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made 2 batches. I'm not sure what I did differently (if anything!) but they turned out so different. One was thin and kinda chewy and the second was fluffy and kinda crisp. Both were really good. I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Finally, a gingersnap recipe that meets my best friend's standards! To spice it up that much more I added 1/2 tsp allspice, a dash of nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp ground cloves. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Hands down amazing. Used butter instead of shortening. Make these and be amazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LexieJae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made these for Christmas cookie giving and they never made it to the neighbors.... even after 3 batches. They are that good! DO NOT skip the sifting. If you don't have a sifter, put the flour in a bowl and whisk it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Wonderful! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States