Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
It was the best Gingersnap cookies ever PS you might need to bring the time down to 8 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Delicious! I have been trying a new recipe a week just to expand my horizons. This one I tried at Christmas and it has become a family favorite. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TraceyClem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Curlew, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I enjoy ginger cookies with my coffee and these were amazing, quick and wonderful! Its nice to have homemade weekly ginger cookies :) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I substituted all butter instead of shortening too... was veryyyy veryyyy delicius!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
These cookies were awesome! I made a few changes (mainly through accident or limited supplies), and the cookies came out perfect! First, I substituted all butter because I don't cook with shortening. I read online that 3/4 cup is 1 and 1/2 sticks of butter. I used two tablespoons of ginger (because I am an idiot and read the recipe wrong), but they came out lovely as a mid-range spicy cookie and not at all overpowering. For the cinnamon sugar I mixed 1/4 cup sugar, 1/2 tablespoon cinnamon, 1/2 tablespoon ginger, and 1/8 teaspoon salt (the salt really accents the spiciness well and is very subtle). I had some of the sugar and spice mix left over, so I put it in a sealed container to use on something else later. I happen to love super spicy ginger snaps, so I may add more ginger (and possibly a hint of nutmeg) next time. New favorite cookie for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Hands down, the best gingersnap cookie recipe!! But, I use butter instead of shortening. Butter makes everything better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
These cookies were amazing! I followed the advice from some other reviewers and added 1 tsp of fresh minced ginger, along with the already existing ginger powder. I was concerned that it would be too strong, but it wasn't. Instead it added a nice kick (although my husband and I do like ginger)! I used butter instead of shortening and baked the cookies for 10 minutes. I took them out of the oven when they hadn't yet cracked, and they started to crack as I was putting them on the cooling rack. Again, from the advice of a fellow reviewer, I used 1/3 cup sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon for the cinnamon sugar mix. I also used pure molasses instead of dark, and it wasn't a problem. These cookies were so chewy and tasted great, not only fresh out of the oven, but also the next day! If you are going on a diet, don't make these cookies because it will be hard to eat only one! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Giffmommy
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I substituted butter for shortening and used 1 1/2 tbsp fresh grated ginger and they were AMAZING! Perfect texture, perfect flavor... Everyone (even my picky eater) LOVED these cookies!! I will definitely make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States