Gourmet Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Absolutely amazing recipe. Time consuming for sure, but sooooo worth it! We have added this to our special occasion / holiday menu box. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I was nervous about trying to cook this but it turned out great! Kept the recipe the same, except I only needed 4 cups of chicken broth for mine. I also read the author's updates and made sure my risotto pot and the broth pot were at an appropriately high setting. I'm going to experiment next time with different ingredients and spices, but this is an awesome base!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Oh my good golly gosh! this was probably one of the best side dishes i have ever had! I have been afraid of Risotto for years...people telling me how bad you have to slave over it...don't over cook...well it's worth every moment at the stove! Taste often as it cooks though....i made it exact-i will say that making a meat and veg were challenging...someone told me to make a meat in the oven and that helped if you have no one to tend to your grill-fantastic.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I really liked this recipe and it turned out pretty good considering it was my first attempt. It should be noted, however that the cook time was WAY over 15 or 20 mins. I plan my dinners so they are ready about 20 minutes before my boyfriend leaves for work, and I just happened to start this super early (almost one hour) and I still had to rush. Overall, we were pleased with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
LOVED this risotto! Added a couple little touches. Does take longer than stated time for the perfect texture. Took about 40 minutes. I added 1 TBSP of butter and a large dollop of marscapone at the end for a delicious creamy texture. Also added 3/4 c of frozen peas. Will definitely make it again! Dianne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Absolutely wonderful recipe! So glad I found it! I've made it 3 times. The 3rd time I was out of white wine but I went ahead and made it anyway ... I admit, I did miss it ... enough that I'd make a trip to the market to get it the next time. It was still good ... but the wine just pushes it over the edge to great! Each time I've made it I've used regular old plain white rice because I have a huge bag of it in my pantry. While I'm sure that the fancy-schmancy rice is better, it turns out great with white rice anyway! So don't let that stand in your way if that's what you have on hand. My boys and I LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoeticLisence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I increased the servings to 8 so this took only about 5 extra minutes for the increase of ingredients. Yes, you HAVE to heat up the broth if you want it to take the time indicated. I heated mine to almost boiling and then kept it nice an hot scooping out the 1/2 cup as needed. We had this as the main dish and the only change I made was substituting flat leaf parsley for the chives because that's what I had. AND I did a dry sauté of the mushrooms which is super fast, healthier and easy. Thanks Myleen. This was delicious and I will be making it again with pictures and featuring on my blog soon. It was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
At first I thought there would be too many mushrooms, but it worked out nicely in the end. Minimal prep and cooking time. A very fun dish for having a few friends over for dinner. Looking forward to leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I liked this (but I LOVE mushrooms) and the rest of the family just thought it was OK. I don't think I cooked the rice enough as it wasn't too creamy. It was tender but not creamy (like I have tasted risotto to be). I think it's my fault, though, as I had never tried risotto before this and I know that there are tricks and tips to making good risotto. My husband said the leftovers got really mushy and he doesn't mind having this again, just not as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Definitely 5 star! Creamy and full of flavor ...even though I had to substitute quite a bit for what I had on hand. I 'subbed' (1)white onion & 2 cloves minced fresh garlic, for the shallots. (2) That (often criticized green container stuff)grated Parmesan for the fresh. (3) Jasmine rice for the Arborio. (4)thick sliced mini-bellas only, instead of 2 types thinly sliced. So, don't hesitate to try this fantastic dish because you don't have exact ingredients. And,it did take 25 minutes adding 2/3 cup of broth each time. . I plan on making often, as time will allow. Thank you SO MUCH, Myleen, for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States