Gourmet Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I always thought Risotto was hard to make...but this was so easy and tastes great! Will definitely be making this again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Made this tonight to accompany a roasted garlic stuffed colossal shrimp wrapped in pancetta... I used the revised/recommended amount of making the mushrooms only 1 pound instead of 2 and was just right. I did 1/2 lb crimini sliced, 1/4 lb oyster split but caps intact, and 1/4 lb shiitake sliced. I made changes like adding in fresh thyme and chives, about a tablespoon or so each, when I sauteed the mushrooms. I used stock instead of broth. I also salt and peppered the mushrooms when I sauteed them to have the water drawn from the mushrooms when I sauteed. I added the rest of the thyme and chives (again, about a tablespoon each) right after I added the mushrooms and cheese. I had some Grana Padano cheese and low on my block of Parmesan, that I did a half and half mix, freshly and finely grated. Do not use "green tube" fauxnparmesan for this recipe. My SO (boyfriend) and I did not find this bland by any means. If anything we were quite pleased with the fact that there was so much mushroom punch in flavor but not overpowering and the texture so creamy. I read the recipe and not the comments before I went shopping that I do have another LB of mushrooms to use, and when shopping seemed excessive. I'm actually fighting making another batch of risotto where I originally was thinking stroganoff! For those that found bland, split herbs in half and use when sauteeting the shrooms w/ s&p. Only used 36 oz of stock to reach al dente which is subjective to rice and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Just cooked this yesterday for my family they all loved it ! My family don't like aldente, so I lowered the heat and constantly mixed the rice adding even smaller amounts broth. I was told it was even better than what one person ate at a gourmet restaurant couple days ago ! My second time cooking risotto ! So it's easier to do a good job with this !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
It was so good! It was creamy and absolutely delicious. I cut the mushrooms to about 300g and added 1 1/2 cups water and took out the white wine. I added leek and some chicken for protein. Ooooooh I'll be making this for a loooong time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
simply awsome. takes longer to cook that advertised but well woth the wait
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Absolutely perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammie Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Fantastic recipe ! Taste absolutely good ... super yum yum ! I will do it on my next craving for risotto .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This may be closer to 3.5 stars. I wanted to follow it as closely as written in order to give it a fair rating and I never imagined I'd utter these words, but "there were way too many mushrooms." A couple of things to note: I bought pre-sliced mushrooms and they probably weren't as thinly sliced as the recipe intended, so I actually had to cook them in step 2 for about 10 minutes, instead of 3 minutes, and they probably could've cooked a little longer. Next time, I'll start with the baby bellas for about 2 minutes and then add the whites. I added just a little yellow onion in with the shallots because I had it and needed to use it. It took a little longer than 2 minutes to get the rice to a pale, golden color. Finally, I used parsley instead of chives at the end of the recipe and only used about 3 T. of butter. This had good flavor, but again, just too many mushrooms. Oddly enough, the package of baby bellas that I used had a recipe on the carton for mushroom risotto that I may try next time. The ratio for mushrooms to rice in that recipe is 1 lb mushrooms to 1 c. rice. Also, the broth in that recipe is a combination of vegetable broth and water (2:1), so it would be a little cheaper to make, although it may not be as flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States