Gourmet Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I like this recipe overall. My Chinese-side of the family likes a bit more rice in the risotto so I add an extra cup, but also add 1.5 cups extra chicken broth which adds a few more minutes to the overall cooking time. I also add about 1/3 to 1/2 cup of warm milk to the risotto to bring out a creaminess. I like boiling down my own chicken to get the full flavor for the risotto. In a tall soup pot I fill it with water, garlic, shallots, salt, pepper and a whole chicken. After boiling for 30 minutes debone the chicken and cut for use in the risotto. Use the broth now to boil up the rice after its been quick fried in the butter/fat. This really adds the chicken flavor to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Gourmet Mushroom Risotto... the name says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Amazing! And easy to make. Will defiantly entertain with this one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I really liked it. I'm not a huge fan of rice dishes, and this was my first attempt at making risotto, so I wasn't expecting perfection, but it was quite good. I used all baby bella mushrooms, and sauteed them with butter and wine instead of olive oil, so I went lighter on the butter and wine in the rice. I also didn't have the chives to add at the end, and didn't miss them. My fiance really liked it, so I will likely make it again to go along with one of his meat dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I loved this and added some sun dried tomatoes, Sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Just prepared it yesterday and it is awesome. I used onions and garlic as a substitute for shallots. For an "earthier" taste, I replaced the portobellos and white mushrooms with fresh shiitake and buna-shimeji mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monococinero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Really good. A lot of stirring. Will only make for a special occasion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deniseballai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
My first try at risotto and it WAS GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
The basics of this risotto was deeeeeeeelicious! I don't like mushrooms (yes it is true), so I took a handful and chopped them into small pieces before I sauteed them. I didn't have chives. And it took over an hour to cook. In the end it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Portland, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States