Gourmet Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I'm tempted to give this 4 stars because of the effort involved in making it- but it was really delicious when *finally* done. I found all the cooking times to be way understated... 1) it takes more like 15 mins to get mushrooms soft/cooked, not 3. 2) It took more like 40 mins of constant stirring to get all the liquid absorbed into the risotto, not 15-20. That's where the hard work comes in...I finally had to get my husband to relieve my tired arm at the stove :-) I used almost the full amount of mushrooms, since we like them and it wasn't too many, just a lot :-). I subbed in a bit more wine and cut back on the broth a bit. Still, I found the final dish to be lacking something, so I added more parm cheese (roughly doubling it) and that definitely helped. Instead of regular salt, I used a provence herbal seasoning salt, and that really helped add flavor too. I would highly recommend doubling this recipe, as I did, since the same amount of labor will yield you a lot of leftovers and they freeze well. I'm going to put this one in my "make for very special occasions, and make a day ahead so that the amount of labor is long forgotten and I'm not sweaty when guests arrive" file. Or I'll just order it in restaurants! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Simply wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Agree with many others, I used small amount of dried porcini mushrooms, a bit more wine, and cooked this more slowly constantly adding liquid. Nevertheless the proportions of rice and liquid and ingredients made for a delicious risotto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Way too much work for so little reward
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
By far best risotto we have ever had. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
My family loved this risotto. I didn't have any white wine so I used water. I nixed the shallots, sautéed onions in the butter then added the rice. Instead of Parmesan cheese I used pepper jack. Followed the rest of the recipe as stated. End result was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This was my first time making Rosotti and after watching all the Food shows about how hard it was, I approached it with trepidation. However, it wasn't difficult and it was quite good. I can see infinite variations and see no reason to be afraid. Clearly the time is dependent on keeping your chicken broth at the correct temperature. I made as directed and will do so again and again. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Wonderful recipe! I love risotto and always order it when I am out to dinner. I always thought that making risotto was above my cooking ability. Well tonight was my night! Your recipe was so easy to follow. This recipe tastes just like the risotto I eat in my favorite Italian restaurant. Okay maybe even better!! It will definitely go in the book with my favorite recipes. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
My first attempt at making risotto turned out great! Such a foolproof recipe, and I liked how it's a one dish meal. I reduced the amount of chicken broth to about 3 to 4, or alternatively, I would have diluted the broth with a little water. I also drizzled some truffle oil for that extra oomph at the end! Definitely bookmarking this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States