Good Old Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This is truly the perfect, no fuss pancake. I do like to add vanilla to the recipe and cut salt in half.When I do make them I double the recipe and freeze the leftover pancakes on a cookie sheet than bag them. **Just a footnote for the complaint about "bitter" taste. There are 6 different kinds of baking powder. I suspect that the bitter taste is because the baking powder they used was a SAS baking powder. Use a single acting bp and cook all the batter as this bp will lose its carbonation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline  Peranio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This recipe does not need any adjustments! I've been using this recipe for a long time now and the pancakes always come out nice and fluffy! The only time I ever change it up is by adding some chocolate chips or fruit slices. Other than that, please, try this recipe as is before you start experimenting with it. It's a shame to see so many people adding or subtracting from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
After I made enough pancakes for everybody, i had batter left, so I poured the rest into a ramekin and cooked it in the oven. Then I really got ambitious and spooned a tablespoon of blackberry compote I had made on top of the batter, then covered it with more batter. It was wonderful!!! would make a great brunch dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
My family loved these pancakes! I followed the recipe as is, except I did add 1 tsp vanilla extract. The batter is thick, but don't panic. They come out alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I don't really like pancakes, but loved this one. I added a scoop of vanilla whey protein to the recipe. My kids didn't even notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
We didn't have any pre-bought pancake mix at home so we thought we'd try from scratch. These were soooo easy and tasty! I may never buy store-bought again. I personally would add a 1/2 teaspoon more sugar but other than that... Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daysfan
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Really good and simple recipe. I ran out of baking mix and wanted to make pancakes. I needed it something I could make with what I had available and this is now a keeper. I am also annoyed when people give 5 stars to a recipe they changed and resisted the urge to mess with it based on other reviews. Happy to say these come out just fine. I would clarify that "mix well "is subject to interpretation. I mixed it with a wisk til it was relatively smooth but it still had very small lumps. In my experience lumps in pancake batter is not a bad thing but overbeating can be. Now they I have made them once i will be adding pecans, raisins, cinnamon and vanilla, etc, but it is a good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
The best pancakes ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I will always use this recipe. It was light, fluffy, easy to make, and DELICIOUS. I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Best recipe I have tried!! Fluffier than most!! I even forgot to add the butter--still great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 7,033) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States