Good Old Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Such a fantastic recipe. I use it as a base recipe and add extracts or fruit to change it up. So yummy thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
These pancakes were so fluffy and buttery, delicious. My only critique is too much salt. I'll probably only add a dash of salt next time. I also added a lil vanilla. Hubby loved them! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
I've made several variations using this base. Kids love'm! I use 3 not 3.5 baking powder, smidge more milk, pinch only of salt, plus .5 tsp vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
Very bland and rice cake tasting. Even real maple syrup couldn't save this. So disappointed. I didn't use as much baking powder and the batter was still really thick. I added 3/4c extra milk with lemon juice in it and that made a huge improvement. It thinned it out and added some much needed flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
I won't make it again and it taste too much like flour. Then it was too watery and I had to mix it to get the Klumps out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
Made it as is besides putting in a tbsp of vanilla. Absolutely delicious, light and fluffy, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
Using the tips of sifting dry twice and blending all wet ingredients this recipe is classic delicious and moist. I also used a cast iron griddle because I like the markings on the pancakes. Absolutely the best simple pancake recipe! No more box mix ever in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
After seeing people comment that there was too much salt, I used only 1/4 tsp. I also added dried cranberries for fun. Great recipe, no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mdwish
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
Baking POWDER not Baking Soda. That was the biggest takeaway for me as someone who does not spend much time in the kitchen. Baking powder took these pancakes from inedible to delicious. The other thing I found, I'm not sure what caused it, is that the batter began to thicken and rise while i was waiting for the others in the pan to cook. Too much baking powder? Next time I would also add less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
I like to read negative reviews after I've enjoyed a recipe, just for perspective. I think the negative reviewers must have used baking soda instead of powder or something, because this recipe was perfect. My family likes vanilla so I added a splash. I often add almond extract also because those flavors are so good together. This recipe is perfect as is. No special sifting, or fluffing of eggs whites needed. Just mix all ingredients in the bowl, cook up with some olive oil (!) and num num num. deeeeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 7,433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States