Good Old Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
the recipe is excellent as is. I made two batches. Batch 1 was without any additions. The pancakes turned light and fluffy. The second batch, I added 1/3 cup of extra milk to thin the batter. It was just as good. I used the second batch for sandwich bread as I was out of bread. The things one can do with this recipe is only limited to one's imagination. Thanks for a versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Princeton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Great recipe...it is pretty foolproof! Folks will think you are a gourmet chef when you whip up this recipe! Easy to double or even triple for larger crowds. I've been making this recipe for about a year now and have loved it each time. A few notes though: 1) I've gotten adventuresome and have added a dash of cinnamon, dash of nutmeg, and a teaspoon of Pure Vanilla extract for a perfect fall-like pancake. So yummy....and 2) You don't have to use as much baking powder if you like your pancakes a little flatter (the amount called for makes them super puffy...which is great sometimes!) 3) I've found that the quality of my baking powder makes a difference...a cheap generic brand will not work or taste as nice as a better quality baking powder. Just something I've observed! Happy cooking! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
These were very good pancakes, no complaints whatsoever! Usually we just make the box mix but I had ran out so I decided to make some homemade. Very good and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Beginners like me should definitely look for some other pancake recipe. With so many changes how could this get 5 star ratings. Too much baking powder and salt. I spoilt my morning breakfast following this recipe to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Worst recipe ever! Tasted like a mixture of salt and cardboard. Followed to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I normally don't rate recipes especially not bad ratings but I don't know why such rave reviews, I made these and they were literally awful. Waaaay to much salt and baking soda. When I initially made the batter they smelled wonderful and the battery was nice and fluffy. The pancakes came out looking beautiful but once I tasted it I had to spit it out and I threw all the batter away. All I tasted was baking soda and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chareonski gray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
this is a wonderful base recipe. So much better than box mix. and easy! fluffy and good. Decrease salt and add sugar and vanilla if you prefer sweeter. Also if you cook on cast iron decrease heat or else it will burn. i suggest medium low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Tried it liked it plan on making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
My husband finally loves pancakes for breakfast! I am very happy with this recipe, super easy and delish. I didn't have a strainer but my batter still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 6,727) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States