Good Old Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Looking for a good pancake mix for a fussy six year old. Read this recipe and the reviewers comments and gave it a try. Great results. I did cut the salt after the first batch, as most suggested, and added 1/2 tsp. vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is my favorite recipe for pancakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Lynn Coleman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Unbelievably heavy. At first I followed the recipe perfectly and the batter looked like something that owuld make for decent waffles or pretzels, not pancakes. After adding some more milk and vegetable oil it got a bit lighter but was very thick still. The pancakes are incredibly thick&heavy themselves, I (and I'm sure most of the population) prefer something way thinner and fluffier. I was full after just one medium to large pancake (and I'm normally a heavy eater).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This is an excellent recipe which is fun to alter a bit to your tastes and health choices. My favorite way to make them is to sub out 1/2 cup whole wheat flour for the a.p. flour. Omit the salt completely. Sub 3 tbsn of plain yogurt or greek yogurt for the melted butter and lastly add 1 tsp vanilla. They get pretty thick with the changes so I add a touch of water to thin just a bit. I am telling you, the yogurt takes them over the top and you will never miss the butter! I put a touch of cocount oil on my griddle before frying. Totally a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Way too much salt. Even cut it down and still all I could taste. Also turned out heavy more like a bread, but that could have been chef error! Will not be attempting this recipe again, I will stick with the good old fashioned Betty Crocker one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Excellent recipe! I didn't want to use box mix anymore since I cannot pronounce half of the ingredients:( These come out perfect every time. Fluffy and delicious. I did cut the salt to 1/2 teaspoon and add 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robert Zintzun
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Just made them but decided to double the mix and add three chopped bananas with mini chocolate chips. There were amazing. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Zintzun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Excellent pancake mix and I did have all ingredients on hand. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I ran out of the Bisquick Pancake mix, so I search up making pancakes from scratch and this popped up. Very simple, very delicious. If you want to add a little something to the pancakes, I recommend 1/4 - 1/2 cup of your desired ingredient. I use fruit and chocolate chips usually. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Disagree on the salt debate. I thought it was the perfect touch. (But then salt really is a "to taste" preference kind of item). LOVED this recipe. 7 year old announced at 6am she wanted pancakes for her birthday breakfast & I had no mix. Found this in a quick Google search & can say it is the BEST scratch recipe I've tried! Will never buy mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 7,029) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States