Good Old Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Why have I been buying pancake mixes? This recipe is so easy and versatile. I have added some cinnamon and apple, bananas and walnuts, even a heaping table spoon of pumpkin and pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebelshope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I use this recipe to make pancakes whenever my kids have a sleepover, I've had several kids tell their moms that they need to get my pancake recipe. I usually double it and add about 1 tsp. vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I have tried a lot of pancake mixes and recipes. This one was at the top! All I added, after reading the reviews, was a Tbsp of vanilla and I sifted 3 times. The pancakes were wonderful! Ithe pancakes were fluffy and light. This is definitely my go-to recipe now. Thank you for sharing! And just a note for the "Negative Nancy's", when someone is nice enough to share a recipe, how about just saying that the recipe is not for me, or something of that nature. We shouldn't bash it, only build it up (try variations in the recipe- Just as we should people). Let us keep the peace. After all, that is what separates us from the animals! Don't be an animal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
It's a pretty good recipe, but it must be my elevation - the batter ends up way too thick to get a good pour, and they get a little too fluffy to brown properly. I add 1+1/2 cups milk instead of 1+1/4 and subtract 1 tsp of baking powder. I use salted butter so I omitted the salt, and add an extra tbsp of sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla. With the changes, this is my go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I didn't make any changes to the recipe, other than adding chocolate chips. We loved it! I was in a panic because I was out of mix but this was quick, easy, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissChelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Okay, so this recipe is a great START to pancakes. Personally, I don't like my pancakes quite so thick, but I enjoyed the fluffiness. I made the recipe once and just found that the pancakes were too thick for my taste, so on subsequent trials, I've begun adding water, about 1/4 cup, to encourage the pancakes to spread more at first. They still rise wonderfully and have that awesome, fluffy texture... They're just not so thick. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Other than adding vanilla, I followed this recipe exactly and my family and I loved the end result. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Mix came out too thick. Added 1/2 cup more milk, which made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Butler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rosa Toribio
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I love this recipe. I changed a fee things though. Instead of regular milk I used fat free Lataid milk, instead of butter I used extra virgin olive oil, instead of regular sugar I used Truvía, and instead of oil on the pan I used PAM spray. I ate it with an omelette goat cheese with garlic and herb omelette and syrup of course. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Awesome old-fashioned pancake recipe! My kids love it :) I agree with tevans211, I add Vanilla Extract (but then again, I ALWAYS add vanilla extract to my pancake batter!) I didn't even sift the flour on my second time making this recipe (when you have 4 kids bugging you for pancakes NOW you tend to rush) and the pancakes STILL come out awesome! Another note on vanilla with pancakes: once, years and years ago, I had run out of milk to make pancakes, so I melted vanilla bean icecream as a substitute: best pancakes I ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 6,927) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States