Good Old Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
really good recipe, I made this with whole wheat flour and used 3/4tsp salt, added 1 tsp vanilla, and some nutmeg and cinnamon to give it a nice flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I made these for breakfast and my husband is demanding that I make them again for dinner. I used the amount of salt that it called for and didn't think they were too salty. I happened to see that some others added vanilla so I used 1/2 tsp, but I'm sure they would have been just as amazing without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This is an excellent recipe and I've used it several times. Occasionally I add in 1 tsp. of Vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Thank You TEVANS211 for adding in the part about the unsalted butter..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary C Boone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
These pancakes were delicious with a capital d. Although the proportions were a bit off, I added some of my own techniques. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Really good -- very fluffy! Maybe a little bit less salt would be good -- but overall really nice taste and texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Love, love, love it. Sucks waking up Sunday morning and no more pancake mix insight. Thank god for Google and all recipes. I found this to be simple, easy to make and tasty!!! I read the reviews and took a Little advice and added 1/2 to of vanilla extract!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
these are the most perfect pancakes ever! First, some tips – when melting butter I never melt all that the recipe calls for. I typically reserve about a third and stir that in after the two thirds has melted. That brings the temperature down, and I'm not stuck waiting for the butter to cool. Second, I think a lot of people that come to sites like this are new to cooking. If so, I suggest you follow the recipe exactly as written the first time you make it. The reason this recipe calls for 3 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder is so that the pancakes are light and airy. They were! Sifting the dry ingredients is also important. Again, directed at the new cooks, lightly beat the egg, add it to the milk, then add that to the cooled to room temp butter, then follow the recipe directions. , This is really important – do not overmix the batter! Remixing will leave you with flat, tough pancakes. After it is mixed, those "lumps "are more likely air, which is a good thing. I added about a half teaspoon vanilla, but it certainly is not necessary. These are delicious, and come out perfectly if you follow the recipe the way it is written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Made these for my picky son. He (and everyone else) loved them! I added blueberries in some and chocolate chips in some. Even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
it was very good but it was a little watery but i still loved it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 6,700) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States