Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
Excellent recipe, finished product has perfect texture and tastes great. I found that this recipe is not very forgiving and recommend that it be carefully followed. Although, lemon flavoring might be too strong. I prefer it with two tablespoons lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
This is a great recipe! A friend asked for "something lemony" for his birthday, so I used this recipe and made it into a roulade (jelly roll), and then used Carol's "Lemon Filling" inside it. Everyone said I'd outdone myself. I'm sure it's great as a tube cake, too, and will try that over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Excellent. My great aunt used to make a similar cake, but I never had the opportunity to ask her for the recipe. I used all purpose flour with 1 tbsp of baking soda, 2 capfuls of lemon juice and a 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Baked at 375 for 45 min. It was a little hard to remove from the pan, but eventually relented. The crust was thick and chewy and the center moist. Great! I made sure to let the cake rest for 30 min after removing it from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I have made this recipe 17 times in the past week and it is so very wonderful. I love it. Thank you, Evelyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Very light, fluffy and lemony. I juiced a lemon instead of using extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I love this recipe. The only change I made was to use lemon juice instead of lemon extract and I cooked it for about 45 minutes. I drizzeled the cake with a simple lemon icing and served it with vanilla ice cream (although I don't think the ice cream was necessary). The flavor and the texture are nice and light and are perfect for a summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
With the previous reviews being so outstanding I had to try this one. It didn't disappoint in the least. This came out light and fluffy and delicious. This one is a keeper. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This was an excellent recipe. I did not have a lemon so I used 1/2 a package of unsweetened orange drink mix crystals (about 3/4 tsp) and the flavor was outstanding. I also cut the sugar content in half. I baked the batter in a medium loaf tin and then cut the cake lengthwise (after cooling) and added a layer of raspberry jam which was quite complimentary to the orange flavor. Because I didn't use lemon juice, and because I only used half the sugar, I cut down the water content to 2 tbsp and 2 tsp. I also didn't have cake flour so I placed whole wheat flour in a coffee grinder to make a fine cake flour. I also omitted the cream of tartar. I will use this recipe again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Very light and fluffy - be careful it feels like you can't get full on it. I followed some of the other reviewer's advice and added 2 Tbsps of lemon juice instead of lemon extract and took away a bit of the water to make up for the extra juice. I took it out earlier than an hour - check 45 minutes after you put the cake in the oven. I also didn't preheat the oven - in case anyone was wondering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn Jones
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Great recipe! This recipe was easy to follow and turned out great. I would definitely say using a handmixer (on the highest level) to get the whites to a stiff texture is a must! I kept the lemon extract and did not use a substitute and the cake came out perfect. In fact, to get a heavier lemon flavor, you could even use a tiny bit more. As it was, the cake turned out the perfect consistency, light, flavorful, and visually appealing. I'd use this recipe for a shortcake instead of an angel food cake any day. I also doubled this recipe because I was using a 9x13 rectangle pan. However, it was a little more than I needed so I made a spill-over loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States