Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I literally made 5 sponge cakes to decide which one to use in my trifles. This one was the winner. Don't change a thing. It's divine. Not too eggy, light and fluffy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
it is glorious. I used half water, half fresh lime juice and added the zest of that lime. I then used it to make a raspberry trifle, it was wonderful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This cake is absolutely breathtaking. Of course, you are going to have lines from where you took it out of the tube pan, but the flavor makes up for it. It is very plain and simple on its own. I tried it with raspberry jam, powdered sugar, vanilla and lemon icing, lemon curd, and other various toppings. It also makes delicious french toast the morning after...trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Star

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Excellent! My recommendations: use lemon juice, not extract, but increase to 2 tsp. Regular flour instead of cake is fine, as long as you sift it. Cream of tartar is not needed - instead, add the lemon *juice* to the egg *whites* before whipping (lemon juice & cream of tartar are interchangeable as egg white stabilizers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Wonderful cake, turned out beautifully! Hubby thought it was store bought it came out so good. I was nervous about reviews saying it was stuck to the pan after cooking, but did not have an issue after allowing it to cool fully. Great texture. I did sub vanilla for the lemon, and cook time was a good 20 min less (but I cooked this in 2 loaf pans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Winters, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I used it as a base for strawberry shortcake'. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Delicious! I baked in a normal cake pan and frosted with Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Finally! A sponge cake that retained its volume even after cooking. I have a recipe that calls for squares of sponge cake, which I make in an 8"x8" pan, and every other recipe I tried fell flat. But this one stands tall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I give this recipe 6 stars! I baked my first sponge cake using this recipe, it came out amazing... Soft and completely spongey. I just used vanila instead of lemon zest as I wanted a cake with vanila taste. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LollySoly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tehran, Tehran, Iran
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Terrible cake! So rubbery and dry, really, my jaw is hurting after chewing a piece of this cake. And I even put some basic syrup on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States