Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Wayyy too sweet.This just didn't work for me and I followed the instructions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vashanti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I used vanilla extract instead of lemon extract and my cake came out fine. I also only needed to keep it in the oven for 40 minutes. Next time, I'll spray the cake with simple syrup to give it some moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I made this recipe twice. The first try I did NOT use "cake flour" or have tube pan! The 2nd try I used both cake flour & tube pan, both times it did not turn out. It did not rise at all, very disappointed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
looks, smells and tastes good. I made it straight vanilla instead of lemon. Good base cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This recipe cooked up very nicely but tasted way too eggy for me. Will not try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I have used this recipe a billion times and have never been dissapointed! I always take out the lemon extract and replace it with vanilla, also I take out the zest completely! Holds up extremely well when carved, frosted, and cut and has a great texture and taste! I have never baked it for the full time and it has never been over/under done!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
absolutely de Licious!!!!!!!!!!!! just one thing, an hour baking time was too long for my oven. i took it out when the timer read 45 min. but when i bake this again, ima stop at 35 min and see. it was disgustingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
very good...and moist..only took 45 min in my oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I did use this recipe to make home-made Twinkie™-like filled pastry... and this didn't give me any heartburn like its name-sake. I filled them with various fillings such as a wonderful ganache with butter-crunch cookies, vanilla-bean pastry cream filling, and almond schmear. I was in heaven!!! Because I was planning to use other flavors, I only used Mexican vanilla as my flavor base. This recipe is a keeper!!! And no -- I'm NOT sharing. They can make their own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Borderbumble

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States