Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Great cake! Made one for Easter and will keep on hand for any occasion. Thanks, Erica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticdiva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This cake was a flop for me. Did exactly step by step. I see it does not have baking powder so i re did another cake with baking powder and nothing. Can someone please give me some advice greatly appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I tried this sponge and it looked great coming out of the oven but 15 mins later it had sunk. Where did I go wrong?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This cake has a very good flavor! I made it for my friend on his birthday, and everybody enjoyed it! But I would like to know how I can make it fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This was an easy recipe to follow. Make sure you don't get ANY yolk in with your whites, because the whites will not fluff. The cake turned out great and had a nice flavor. I will be making this for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
GREASE THE PAN...The recipe calls for an ungreased pan, but I wish I'd done it anyway. Despite using a non-stick bundt pan, it stuck to the bottom and tore when I finally got it out. I usually make sponge cakes in a springform and have never had that problem before; I wanted to make a larger cake this time and chose this recipe to help with proportions. I substituted vanilla&almond extracts and orange zest--it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This is the best sponge cake I made, it is soft and yet moist. Very easy to prepare. I baked it in a 10 inch bundt pan for 45 minutes. I beat my egg whites first, then used the same hand beater to beat my egg yolks. Sprayed baking spray on my pan. I used cake flour and sifted it before adding it to the eggyolk mix, I try not not overbeat the flour with the egg yolk mix. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I substituted orange flavor instead of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This cake is PERFECT!!!! The users that had problems must had made error some where. I followed the directions EXACTLY with just one minor adjustment. I used vanilla instead of Lemon.... I just prefer it. It looked and tasted amazing. Please don't try to change it because you think you know better. Like most other users it only took 45 min. in my oven. Kudos....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
OMG...Amazing cake...it was soooo spongy, my husband thought that I bought it from the nearby bakery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ranadi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States