Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
i just finished putting pureed strawberries and whipped cream in this cake! and wow!it's really good:), there is this famous bakery that makes amazing strawberry shortcake and i think i might have guessed what her secret sponge cake is!:):) thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
om nom nom! Yum! I omitted the lemon and put in 1 tsp of vanilla and it was very tasty. I baked in 2 bread pans and next time need to cut down the baking time if using these pans again. I'd say 50 min next time perhaps as the edges were quite brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I'm not sure what happened but my sponge cake does not look like the photo. It did not rise like that at all. It tasted like baked eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I followed this recipe to a tee and the cake turned out great! Be sure to preheat your oven long enough (give it 20 min or so), else the cake may not rise properly. Also, make sure you use a whisk instead of rubber spatula to fold egg whites into the yolk mixture - it's so much faster and easier, and above all, it prevents the egg whites from losing their volume. Lining your pan with parchment paper can be helpful for easier removal of the cake. If you are a beginner, check out the sponge cake article on Allrecipes. It really teaches you a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I honestly did not like this cake much. Even though it came out just the way it should, and I followed the recipe to a T, it was really hard to get it out of the pan, Even after I had let it cool upside down over a bottle. I had to dig my fingers all around the cake down to the base to try and loosen it up. It did end up coming out, but with much effort. It did not break however, but that's because of it's extremely sponge-like texture, which I did not like much. I know it's supposed to be "spongey" but It was soo elastic it felt like I was eating a sponge. I still gave it a four star because most of my family surprisingly liked it! I guess each one his own taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
It worked!! So excited...my boyfriend loved it, and it went great with powdered sugar on top and a bunch of fresh fruit on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura V.
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Absolutely perfect. This was light, fluffy, and a gorgeous shade of golden. I made mine in a silicon muffin pan, for "strawberry shortcake". I also substituted vanilla extract and cardamon (recommended at the shortcake recipes) for the two lemon flavorings. The cakes were reminiscent of angel food cake in flavor and texture, without the hassle of measuring egg whites and having leftover yolks! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
What a simple and easy recipe! I used 2 T lemon juice since I didn't have extract or zest. Baked in two loaf pans and shortened the bake time by 10 min. My wife loved it! (and that's very high praise)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
maybe i just need practice at making bundt type cakes but mine was like a frisbee/hock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Ramos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Great cake! Made one for Easter and will keep on hand for any occasion. Thanks, Erica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticdiva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States