Glorious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This cake worked out great. I was using it for a base in tiramisu, so instead of lemon, I used 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla. I also used whole wheat flour (instead of cake flour) as someone suggested, by grinding it in the coffee grinder. The tiramisu was great! Anyway, we had some leftover plain sponge cake for dessert tonight. I figured out that it tastes just like a twinkie! Weird. Anyway, bake time was only about 43 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Oh my God, the sponge was wonderful. I think i will be making it for all my children's birthdays. It was so soft and fluffy, anybody who wants to have a go at this cake should definitely bake this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastlea, Harare, Zimbabwe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This cake was amazing and really deserves 5 stars. The texture was fantastic and it came out of the over perfectly cooked and came out of the tin easily as well. I used it to make a birthday cake. next time i'll probably use bit more lemon because i like the taste but other than that it was a berfect cake, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAMSICAL
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
i was unsure what "cake flour" was so i just used standard flour - maybe this made a difference in how my cake turned out. i used 2tbsp of lemon juice (and slightly less water)instead, but followed the recipe otherwise exactly, including using an 'ungreased pan', which i regret now, as my cake was so stuck to the pan i had to literally scrape it out. i would suggest either using a non-stick baking pan, or baking paper to avoid this. because it came out looking rather unappealing, i used a lemon icing (found on this site) to frost it, which gave it also a stronger lemon flavour that i was after. overall, it still tasted nice, and i especially loved the texture of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura-Jane
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Glorious! I'd never made a sponge cake before, so I was worried. I followed the directions to a T and this recipe came out perfectly! I was worried that my cakes would be difficult to get out of the pan, but I just had to slice around the edges and underneath, and they held their shape perfectly. So easy, and I'm a first-timer! (I also used Carol's "Lemon Filling" and topped the cake with strawberries. Divine combination!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura-Jane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHRISTYUNT
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
A fantastic recipe. This was my first sponge cake, and I think it came out perfect. (We'll see what the family says tomorrow. I sneaked an early taste!) I used a teaspoon of lemon juice (not the fake stuff), and it gave just a slight lemon taste. Not to overwhelming, just right. The cake is fluffy, beautiful in color, and melt in your mouth delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn Jones
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Great recipe! This recipe was easy to follow and turned out great. I would definitely say using a handmixer (on the highest level) to get the whites to a stiff texture is a must! I kept the lemon extract and did not use a substitute and the cake came out perfect. In fact, to get a heavier lemon flavor, you could even use a tiny bit more. As it was, the cake turned out the perfect consistency, light, flavorful, and visually appealing. I'd use this recipe for a shortcake instead of an angel food cake any day. I also doubled this recipe because I was using a 9x13 rectangle pan. However, it was a little more than I needed so I made a spill-over loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Very light and fluffy - be careful it feels like you can't get full on it. I followed some of the other reviewer's advice and added 2 Tbsps of lemon juice instead of lemon extract and took away a bit of the water to make up for the extra juice. I took it out earlier than an hour - check 45 minutes after you put the cake in the oven. I also didn't preheat the oven - in case anyone was wondering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This was an excellent recipe. I did not have a lemon so I used 1/2 a package of unsweetened orange drink mix crystals (about 3/4 tsp) and the flavor was outstanding. I also cut the sugar content in half. I baked the batter in a medium loaf tin and then cut the cake lengthwise (after cooling) and added a layer of raspberry jam which was quite complimentary to the orange flavor. Because I didn't use lemon juice, and because I only used half the sugar, I cut down the water content to 2 tbsp and 2 tsp. I also didn't have cake flour so I placed whole wheat flour in a coffee grinder to make a fine cake flour. I also omitted the cream of tartar. I will use this recipe again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
With the previous reviews being so outstanding I had to try this one. It didn't disappoint in the least. This came out light and fluffy and delicious. This one is a keeper. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States