Gingerbread Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Very good - I had to add more milk as my mixture was a little too dry to knead... I also left off the egg wash and topped the unbaked scones with a cinnamon sugar mixture. These were great scones and made a perfect light dinner with homemade applesauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Was a sure hit on Mama's Day - Thanks! I think I will add some yogurt next time for some additional moisture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Love this recipe - almost identical to the Grandma's Molasses Gingerbread Scone recipe, except that one calls for 1/2 C milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I love scones, ginger and molasses but, as some reviewers said, they are a little dry. Sorry for giving them a lower rating but I feel that the following is an improvement: use 1 whole large egg and substitute 1/3 cup of sour cream for milk (possibly more to get the right consistency). Have made this version many times with no problem. Good luck......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Fabulous! So yummy! I used 4 T (1/4 C) brown sugar and added a pinch each of ground cloves and nutmeg. Served warm with a little vanilla whipped cream. They just melt in your mouth! Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chazwaine
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I love this recipe. Moist, delicious, and good warm or room temp--but better when hot and fresh out of the oven. I did the egg wash, but put cinnamon and sugar instead of plain sugar--delicious! Want to try with an orange glaze, as suggested by previous reviewers, next time I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chazwaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I followed the recipe exact, only because I read through the reviews before making these, I added an extra generous splash of milk to the wet ingredients because I was concerned about the dough being too dry. I did egg wash my scones and then sprinkled them with a cinnamon/coarse sugar mix. I thought these were fantastic as did my two boys and husband. Quite simple and very tasty. I think these would be great with a simple vanilla glaze in place of the sugar on the top, too. Next time I make these (and I will make these again), I'll add a little nutmeg. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This is a real comfort food! My family loves gingerbread, and made into scones was neat. Next time, I might add some grated orange rind. We will be having this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I made these scones as a holiday dessert for friends from England and they loved it. Even their one year old boy wanted more. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie S.
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Wow, these were out-of-this-world delicious! I did make a few changes based on personal preferences and by what I had on hand. I swapped measurements of ginger and cinnamon, added a pinch of nutmeg and cloves, and used 1/2 cup heavy (whipping) cream instead of milk. I also tossed the whole egg into the mixture, and glazed the finished product with a simple icing sugar glaze. These scones turned out tasting more like a thick molasses cookie than a scone, and the texture was absolutely divine! Will definitely make these again! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States