Gingerbread Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I love scones, but I was a little disappointed with these. They aren't very sweet and seem very dry. I may try to make these again, but I think I'll stick to more traditional scone recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I made this recipe for my grandma's 70th birthday, and we really enjoyed them. It took a while for the dough to come together when kneading, but it did. Also, I started the recipe before checking my pantry (oops!), and ended up substituting honey and extra brown sugar for the molasses. The recipe still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I made half the recipe because I knew I would end up eating them all. And I almost did. I loved them! I would recommend using unsalted butter, otherwise omit the salt. I would also add more brown sugar, because I love them sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chazwaine
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I love this recipe. Moist, delicious, and good warm or room temp--but better when hot and fresh out of the oven. I did the egg wash, but put cinnamon and sugar instead of plain sugar--delicious! Want to try with an orange glaze, as suggested by previous reviewers, next time I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chazwaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Very good. These were easy & fast to make. They were a big hit at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cross Junction, Virginia, USA
Living In: Remington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
These were good. Didn't change anything. Served with orange butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
A wonderful end to a meal with coffee, tea or especcially hot cider. My 4 year - old could have eaten the whole batch, and the ladies group wants these for every meeting. I drizzled a light orange glaze of them adding a little extra zing and it made them really pretty to set out too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I have made this recipe a couple of times. It is really good. Somtimes I ice them and sometimes I don't. This is a really good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spunkycutechic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Was a sure hit on Mama's Day - Thanks! I think I will add some yogurt next time for some additional moisture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
These are wonderful. Very similar to gingerbread men but I like these better. My husband warms them up in the am for his breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States