Gingerbread Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I don't know what went wrong--these came out of my oven tasting like hockey pucks. I have made a lot of different scone recipes over the years, so I was eager to try a gingerbread flavor. These were very flat, not crumbly, and lacked in flavor. (I will admit that I added a little extra cinnamon, a bit of anise, and a pinch of cloves to make it more spicy.) If you make these, eat them warm with a ton of molasses or something else with a strong flavor to make up for the lack of flavor. When they cool they become hard as rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Made these for my boss for Christmas. Nice holiday feel and very scone-like. Dense texture, holds up well to packaging. Nice for dunking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These were just OK. I even added extra ginger and was expecting a more powerful punch. I didn't like the addition of egg to my scone, either. My husband ate them and claimed them "Good". My daughters ate the top with the sugar and left the scone alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltkdvmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
We really enjoyed these. However, it's a better scone with the whole egg in. Just brush milk on before baking and sprinkle sugar on them. I think the scones could benefit with an increase in the margarine to 1/3c. I increased the ginger and cinnamon as well - I love 'em both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Love this recipe - almost identical to the Grandma's Molasses Gingerbread Scone recipe, except that one calls for 1/2 C milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Extra Foamy
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
These are fantastic scones. I only realized half way through that I was all out of molasses so I just subbed in more brown sugar. I made 18 mini-scones. They turned out great and were not dry at all, as other reviewers have said. I'll be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I love scones, ginger and molasses but, as some reviewers said, they are a little dry. Sorry for giving them a lower rating but I feel that the following is an improvement: use 1 whole large egg and substitute 1/3 cup of sour cream for milk (possibly more to get the right consistency). Have made this version many times with no problem. Good luck......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Fabulous! So yummy! I used 4 T (1/4 C) brown sugar and added a pinch each of ground cloves and nutmeg. Served warm with a little vanilla whipped cream. They just melt in your mouth! Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
These were delicious. I could have done with a stronger gingerbread flavor by adding more spices, but they were still very, very good. A unique flavor for scones. I also used a light orange glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Too dry for my taste, but my husband loved them. Made according to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States