Gingerbread Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Melanie S.
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Wow, these were out-of-this-world delicious! I did make a few changes based on personal preferences and by what I had on hand. I swapped measurements of ginger and cinnamon, added a pinch of nutmeg and cloves, and used 1/2 cup heavy (whipping) cream instead of milk. I also tossed the whole egg into the mixture, and glazed the finished product with a simple icing sugar glaze. These scones turned out tasting more like a thick molasses cookie than a scone, and the texture was absolutely divine! Will definitely make these again! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I made these great scones following the recipe but next time I'll use the whole egg and probably sour cream. I thought the flavor was great and texture was good. Will make these again as they are so easy. Oh yea, I added some walnuts in mine. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This is a very bland scone. I added a little more milk and extra brown sugar but there's not much taste to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Good scones, I added a little kick by doubling the ginger, cinnamon and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I am really enjoying these! I have never had a gingerbread scone before, but thought they would be the perfect way to warm up the house on this snowy day. I added a tablespoon of ground flax seeds just to 'health it up' a little, and sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Chilly out and these we tasty with hot chocolate. I'll ake these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
The scones are fairly good. I love the spicy flavor which goes great with a cup of coffee in the morning. However, the milk needs to be increased to 1/2 cup. Also, I'd double the amount of sugar as they weren't sweet enough for my taste. To compensate, I added a sprinkling of pearlized decorator sugar on top after brushing them with the egg white. Lastly, these scones are better with less handling. Next time, I'll knead only 3-4 times; otherwise, they're too chewy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJMPINKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natchitoches, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I also used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. these were really good. Will make again this coming weekend. did have to add a little milk to make the dough moist enough to combine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I followed the recipe exact, only because I read through the reviews before making these, I added an extra generous splash of milk to the wet ingredients because I was concerned about the dough being too dry. I did egg wash my scones and then sprinkled them with a cinnamon/coarse sugar mix. I thought these were fantastic as did my two boys and husband. Quite simple and very tasty. I think these would be great with a simple vanilla glaze in place of the sugar on the top, too. Next time I make these (and I will make these again), I'll add a little nutmeg. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Delicious! I used a whole egg for the scone, instead of using the white for the wash, and substituted canola oil for butter. I also threw in some grated candied ginger and chopped dried apples. This was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States