Gingerbread Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Very good - I had to add more milk as my mixture was a little too dry to knead... I also left off the egg wash and topped the unbaked scones with a cinnamon sugar mixture. These were great scones and made a perfect light dinner with homemade applesauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I made these scones as a holiday dessert for friends from England and they loved it. Even their one year old boy wanted more. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
These are wonderful. Very similar to gingerbread men but I like these better. My husband warms them up in the am for his breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I have made this recipe a couple of times. It is really good. Somtimes I ice them and sometimes I don't. This is a really good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spunkycutechic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
A wonderful end to a meal with coffee, tea or especcially hot cider. My 4 year - old could have eaten the whole batch, and the ladies group wants these for every meeting. I drizzled a light orange glaze of them adding a little extra zing and it made them really pretty to set out too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Very good. These were easy & fast to make. They were a big hit at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cross Junction, Virginia, USA
Living In: Remington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chazwaine
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I love this recipe. Moist, delicious, and good warm or room temp--but better when hot and fresh out of the oven. I did the egg wash, but put cinnamon and sugar instead of plain sugar--delicious! Want to try with an orange glaze, as suggested by previous reviewers, next time I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chazwaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I made half the recipe because I knew I would end up eating them all. And I almost did. I loved them! I would recommend using unsalted butter, otherwise omit the salt. I would also add more brown sugar, because I love them sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I made this recipe for my grandma's 70th birthday, and we really enjoyed them. It took a while for the dough to come together when kneading, but it did. Also, I started the recipe before checking my pantry (oops!), and ended up substituting honey and extra brown sugar for the molasses. The recipe still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
These are great scones. I adjust for 1 cup wheat flour and one cup white. My husband who doesn't like gingerbread will eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States