Gingerbread Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Very good - I had to add more milk as my mixture was a little too dry to knead... I also left off the egg wash and topped the unbaked scones with a cinnamon sugar mixture. These were great scones and made a perfect light dinner with homemade applesauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Was a sure hit on Mama's Day - Thanks! I think I will add some yogurt next time for some additional moisture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Love this recipe - almost identical to the Grandma's Molasses Gingerbread Scone recipe, except that one calls for 1/2 C milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I love scones, ginger and molasses but, as some reviewers said, they are a little dry. Sorry for giving them a lower rating but I feel that the following is an improvement: use 1 whole large egg and substitute 1/3 cup of sour cream for milk (possibly more to get the right consistency). Have made this version many times with no problem. Good luck......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Fabulous! So yummy! I used 4 T (1/4 C) brown sugar and added a pinch each of ground cloves and nutmeg. Served warm with a little vanilla whipped cream. They just melt in your mouth! Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chazwaine
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I love this recipe. Moist, delicious, and good warm or room temp--but better when hot and fresh out of the oven. I did the egg wash, but put cinnamon and sugar instead of plain sugar--delicious! Want to try with an orange glaze, as suggested by previous reviewers, next time I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chazwaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I followed the recipe exact, only because I read through the reviews before making these, I added an extra generous splash of milk to the wet ingredients because I was concerned about the dough being too dry. I did egg wash my scones and then sprinkled them with a cinnamon/coarse sugar mix. I thought these were fantastic as did my two boys and husband. Quite simple and very tasty. I think these would be great with a simple vanilla glaze in place of the sugar on the top, too. Next time I make these (and I will make these again), I'll add a little nutmeg. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This is a real comfort food! My family loves gingerbread, and made into scones was neat. Next time, I might add some grated orange rind. We will be having this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I made these scones as a holiday dessert for friends from England and they loved it. Even their one year old boy wanted more. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie S.
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Wow, these were out-of-this-world delicious! I did make a few changes based on personal preferences and by what I had on hand. I swapped measurements of ginger and cinnamon, added a pinch of nutmeg and cloves, and used 1/2 cup heavy (whipping) cream instead of milk. I also tossed the whole egg into the mixture, and glazed the finished product with a simple icing sugar glaze. These scones turned out tasting more like a thick molasses cookie than a scone, and the texture was absolutely divine! Will definitely make these again! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States