Gingerbread Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Melanie S.
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Wow, these were out-of-this-world delicious! I did make a few changes based on personal preferences and by what I had on hand. I swapped measurements of ginger and cinnamon, added a pinch of nutmeg and cloves, and used 1/2 cup heavy (whipping) cream instead of milk. I also tossed the whole egg into the mixture, and glazed the finished product with a simple icing sugar glaze. These scones turned out tasting more like a thick molasses cookie than a scone, and the texture was absolutely divine! Will definitely make these again! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I made these great scones following the recipe but next time I'll use the whole egg and probably sour cream. I thought the flavor was great and texture was good. Will make these again as they are so easy. Oh yea, I added some walnuts in mine. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This is a very bland scone. I added a little more milk and extra brown sugar but there's not much taste to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Good scones, I added a little kick by doubling the ginger, cinnamon and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I am really enjoying these! I have never had a gingerbread scone before, but thought they would be the perfect way to warm up the house on this snowy day. I added a tablespoon of ground flax seeds just to 'health it up' a little, and sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Chilly out and these we tasty with hot chocolate. I'll ake these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
The scones are fairly good. I love the spicy flavor which goes great with a cup of coffee in the morning. However, the milk needs to be increased to 1/2 cup. Also, I'd double the amount of sugar as they weren't sweet enough for my taste. To compensate, I added a sprinkling of pearlized decorator sugar on top after brushing them with the egg white. Lastly, these scones are better with less handling. Next time, I'll knead only 3-4 times; otherwise, they're too chewy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJMPINKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natchitoches, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I also used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. these were really good. Will make again this coming weekend. did have to add a little milk to make the dough moist enough to combine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I followed the recipe exact, only because I read through the reviews before making these, I added an extra generous splash of milk to the wet ingredients because I was concerned about the dough being too dry. I did egg wash my scones and then sprinkled them with a cinnamon/coarse sugar mix. I thought these were fantastic as did my two boys and husband. Quite simple and very tasty. I think these would be great with a simple vanilla glaze in place of the sugar on the top, too. Next time I make these (and I will make these again), I'll add a little nutmeg. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Delicious! I used a whole egg for the scone, instead of using the white for the wash, and substituted canola oil for butter. I also threw in some grated candied ginger and chopped dried apples. This was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States