Ginger Beef Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Loved this recipe. I had no plum sauce, but doubled everything else. I also added about 3 TBSP honey. I used honey roasted peanuts, and peanut oil to sauté the beef. Great flavour!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I'd give this 4.5 stars if I could. I marrinated the sliced beef for a couple of hours in one batch of sauce (minus corn starch) then drained before stir frying. Used our favorite stir fry veggies (about twice as many) and doubled the sauce to add at the end. Was lucky and found reduced sodium plum sauce; otherwise it would have been too salty. Not spicy enough for us, so next time will either use a bit of hot chili oil or increase the red pepper flakes. Tasty and easy to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Simple to make & tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Better than take out! I subtracted the carrots and added pea pods, bamboo, and water chestnuts. B/c I add more veggies, I doubled the sauce. Even if I don't add more veggies next time, I will be doubling the sauce. It's just that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Recollections of this culinary dream are causing me salivate in anticipation of making this again. Thank you for the recipe! We were unable to obtain plum sauce and I did not have the fortitude to make the sauce from scratch, so we substituted sweet & sour sauce. I agree with other reviewers that peanut oil and a marinade complete the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This was good but not great. It needs some zing. I tripled the sauce ingredients like some suggested. It is a little too much like Chinese take out IMO. Next time I may use a combo of hoisin and plum sauce, or some Thai chili sauce. Also I will substitute some of the water with rice vinegar. I used peanut oil for stir frying which gives much better results than vegetable oil. I had no sweet pepper, so left it out. Also, skipped peanuts and garnished with some chopped fresh water chestnut for crunch. I think cashews would be a better addition, if using nuts. A splash of sesame oil at the end is good, in place of sesame seeds. The beef could benefit by briefly marinating it in some soy or teriyaki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is a keeper for my family! The spice is so mild that my 3 yr old could eat it. Just add some siracha on the side if you want more heat. Loved the gingered up sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Excellent Stir-Fry. I substituted the Plum Sauce for Maple Barbecue sauce and added West Indian Hot Sauce and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
my family found it a little bland, we prefer a little heat in our stirfry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Success. A stirfry that my kids like. I served the red peppers on the side so that the younger kids would be happy too. Just the right mix of sweet and spicy for me. Have to say, however, I thought it was yummy, but not 5star yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States